DETOX

So Facebook has become an ugly, ugly place these days. As the Philippine election is coming (about 11 days from now?) people are getting more rabid. A lot of black propaganda here and there. I have never seen my country this passionate about politics. Like everyone had their opinion. Strong opinion.

I could write a lengthy essay about this, but let’s just say I have other more important things to do. So I will just rant a little bit to relieve some of my pent up emotions and so that I could go along with my day.

For the record, I am voting for (actually, I voted for) Rodrigo Roa Duterte. Why? I could discuss his platforms, etc. But that would take time. I would just say, when I sensed that he will run for president around 3rd or 4th quarter of last year, I immediately signed up as an absentee votee. He has not declared yet at that time, despite people’s clamors for him to run, but knowing the man, I know he is just doing some form of strategy to gain popularity, esp. since he has some “impairment” compared to the other candidates, i.e. he does not have the money for campaigning, plus, his name is not widely known unlike the others who currently hold national positions. And I was right!

But after all the mudslinging and the ugly exchanges that happened in Facebook, I don’t want to put any of that negativity here. All I’m saying is that, I trust the guy. He delivers. He takes care of his constituents. And he is cunning and learned, and has a strong will. He is what our country needs at the moment. I should know because I grew up in Davao. Well, I am actually from Davao del Norte, but I spent my high school years in Davao City. And I have seen how this guy has transformed the once just-another-Philippine-city into a city that people admire and would love to live in. When I moved to Luzon for college and work, that’s when I first saw that the world is dangerous. I would feel paranoid just going home in the evening, because really, people would steal and kill. It is their normal. The policemen are corrupted, and the government is not doing anything to protect the people. Commuting was hell. And the taxes are just absurd. I feel like the few powerful has been taking away parts of my life. And I never felt that when I was in Davao.

So yeah, all technicalities and objectivities aside, I am voting not just based on what my mind says, but above that, it is what my heart tells me who is the person I could trust my life with.

IMG_9498

Oh, and for those who had been asking about “why not Miriam?”, it is simple, yes she is my second choice but I’m not voting for her not because she is dying or what, I am not voting for her because I see another candidate that I really, really want to run this country.

I remember answering an essay for a job application few years ago, I was asked… wait, I think I still have a copy of the questionnaire.

Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 10.15.36 AM

Yes, I only have admiration for the guy, even long before he decided to run for President. You could agree with me or not, but to each his own.

Oh, and for the first time in my life, I have exercised my right to vote. It was a different feeling to be able to choose my leader.

IMG_9655

I had to travel to Busan (~1.25 hours) for the mobile voting – because the Philippine Embassy in Korea is located in Seoul (~5 hours)

IMG_9653

In case you are wondering, Philippine consulate in Busan is located right by Exit 1 of Dusil subway station of Busan subway Line 1

I arrived around lunchtime so I happily had sundaeguk first before casting my vote.

IMG_9651

IMG_9652

We also received a free drink from Sentbe, a money remittance service for Filipinos in Korea – I opted for a yogurt smoothie, YUM!

IMG_9657

While leaving Busan, I saw this amazing giant golden Buddha, nicely contrasted by the mountains


Anyway, aside from Facebook being very toxic, I feel so lonely these days. As I am in my final semester, I feel like I am at the crossroads again. Job-hunting mode. Perhaps leaving Korea? Hopefully not. I like it here.

And what more could appease my burdened soul than good ole alcohol.

IMG_9644

Soju + Chicken + K-Drama, FTW!

IMG_9645

So addicted to spicy Yangnyeom Chicken these days — what allergy?


And because having soju and chicken alone, and doses of K-Drama are not enough, I had to meet my friend Taegill who lives like a million miles away from Ulsan.

IMG_9674

a scrumptious lunch with the shy Taegill

IMG_9673

Cheese and spicy chicken and rice with seaweed flakes and eggs – Yes, please!

IMG_9676

One happy kid

 

Uijeongbu is about 5-6 hours by bus from Ulsan. But who cares, I need some company and alcohol, and good meals and talks.

IMG_9664

Our yummy Tonkatsu and Galbi dinner – very very very tasty!

IMG_9666

Look at that cheese!

For a moment I was able to escape all my worldly concerns.

IMG_9685

Nice mountain view – the pictures don’t give justice – someday I will climb you

What I like about bus rides, although they are very long, is that I can have all the time to think and reflect about life. Or just sleep.

Or take selfies. Lol

IMG_9695

 

Sorry. Yes, these are three different shots. Kbye.

 

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

