ONE DAY, TWO BEACHES

When the international students went to Ganjeolgeot for a field trip last year, I was surprised to see a nice spot in Ulsan that could easily become a crowded tourist destination if only it wasn’t remotely located. I promised myself to come back to this place when I find the time.

So one day, when my friend from Daegu (a land-locked city in Korea) messaged me that he had been itching to see the beach, I readily volunteered to accompany him. He was originally thinking about Haeundae, though, another beach that I wanted to visit, which I have never been to before.

As we were exchanging some “You decide. No, you decide.”s, he thought: “Why don’t we visit both?”

Brilliant idea!

So we first met in Dongdaegu Bus Terminal where we took a bus together to Busan.

IMG_9277

I just needed to take a photo of this. Seeing a train trailing the countryside kind of reminds me of Harry Potter. πŸ™‚

IMG_9279

When we arrived in Haeundae Bus Terminal, we scouted for the beach. We found this nice department store instead. We tried hard not to purchase a single item. Lol.

HAEUNDAE (ν•΄μš΄λŒ€)

Haeundae is arguably the most popular beach in South Korea. It is located in the opulent Haeundae District in Busan and it has a stretch of white sand beach with some nice buildings lined by the shore. When I first saw its photos online, I told myself, I am so visiting this beach before I graduate!

IMG_9281

The first time I laid my eyes on Haeundae, I was awed

It actually reminded me of Acapulco, a beach I normally see in Mexican telenovelas that I used to watch as a young boy. I like the contrast of nature (the beach and the mountains) and urban elements (tall buildings lining the shore).

IMG_9285

Me ditching the bubble jacket, as Spring approaches

IMG_9291

The other side

IMG_9293

Panoramic view

IMG_9294

IMG_9298

IMG_9318

Birds literally flock at your feet in Haeundae

It was a nice time enjoying the sea breeze but we had to cut it short because we had to go to another city and visit a second beach. So we rushed back to the bus terminal.

However, on our way back, we passed by this quaint sushi restaurant with irresistible food sprawled in its display window. So yeah, we both were not hungry, but sushi time it is!

IMG_9323

My meal

IMG_9324

Look at that gorgeous assortment

GANJEOLGEOT (κ°„μ ˆκ³Ά)

Ganjeolgeot is a beach in Ulsan best known as the spot where you can experience the first sunrise in the entire Korean Peninsula. Hence, Ganjeolgeot is a famous destination during New Year’s eve, as people wanted to greet the first ray of sun for the incoming year.

IMG_9346

Compared to Haeundae, Ganjeolgeot is much much different. It has a more bucolic feel, with minimal touch of urbanization. There is a windmill that adds to the pastoral effect. I also liked this nice restaurant with beautiful architecture (I will post a close-up photo next time, something I took during my first visit to Ganjeolgeot with the international students).

IMG_9335

with that nice restaurant in the background, plus a relaxing stretch of grass carpet

That’s my friend, William, right there in red.

IMG_9340

I like this shot

IMG_9354

IMG_9350

Lonewulf by the windmill – I liked that its color matches my shirt πŸ™‚ In my previous visit the windmill was reddish or something

IMG_9343

Beautiful Ganjeolgeot


We grabbed a cup of coffee in a Starbucks by the beach. Then we went back to Ulsan’s downtown, Samsandong.

IMG_9329

On our way to Ganjeolgeot, found this dental clinic named after my real name. Can you read it?

IMG_9358

IMG_9359

Before I headed home, I took a shot of Ulsan’s Samsandong while crossing the street – nice city lights

IMG_9360

—-

I know there are much more beautiful beaches in the Philippines, but these two are also memorable. And I recommend anyone in South Korea, if you have time, visit either or both Haeundae and Ganjeolgeot. πŸ™‚

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

