REPLY 1988

Lonewulf: *watching a TV show*

Lonewulf: *cries*

Lonewulf: *pauses the show mid-episode* I need to write.

.

.

😀

So I have been obsessing over this particular Korean show recently. It is called 응답하라 1988, (read as Eungdabhara 1988) which translates to Reply 1988. It is a family drama with comedy and romance, set in 1988 Seoul. The show was released late last year and was completed early this year. People have been talking about this in Korea, including my co-interns, one of whom claimed that he spent an entire weekend binge-watching all of its episodes.

Reply1988-cast

The cast of Reply 1988

Reply_1988-p2

the main characters Dong Ryong, Duk Seon, Sun Woo, Jung Hwan, and Taek

I like so many things about this show. Firstly, I am pretty amazed with the set. They have successfully created a very convincing 1988 Seoul, from fashion to styling, to the neighborhood design, and many random details in the show. Even the plots and sub-plots were very much intertwined with real-life events in this period.

I also liked how they portrayed the family customs and traditions of past Korea, which reflects largely the neighborhood environment that I grew up in back in my Philippine hometown: the exchanging of home-cooked dinners amongst neighbors, the teenage rage about the advent of practically any new gadget like walkman and beepers, the relative simplicity of the lifestyle, and many more. Watching the show actually feels like watching my own childhood being told right before my eyes.

Another reason why I just love this show, and this reason is very important to me, is its soundtrack. The music that they used is not just apt for the period, but also induces nostalgia. It reminds me of that nice Korean period movie Sunny, which also featured a good soundtrack. Right now, I got some of the songs that they used in my playlist and has been playing them a lot recently. 🙂

reply-1988-park-bo-gum-go-kyung-pyo-hye-ri

I like the dynamics between the characters, and although I feel culturally different to most of them, I like that they act very human and natural that I feel like I’m actually there with them observing things happening in real-life.

So anyway, this is the scene that made me pause to take a moment to write a blog entry:

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 12.23.30 PMScreen Shot 2016-04-16 at 12.23.48 PMScreen Shot 2016-04-16 at 12.24.03 PM

The feels. TT

I think this is one of the most beautiful sequences I have seen so far (and there are a lot, btw). I just like how the show’s sub-plots speak to me, like no not to me, to my soul. Like they are old friends who know each other well.

*sigh*

Reply.1988.E01 1151

Perhaps my most favorite character, hilarious but has depth. And I like that people are always annoyed of his antics or that his family do not patronize his craziness

151015_reply1988_03

gtMsv9V

The sisterhood trinity is real here…

Reply-1988-a3

…so it is here

x3Jzbxh

fiesty Ra Mi Ran… lol – I just love her

tumblr_nzbwmkiWuE1u3gc0uo2_1280

Nice fan art I saw online

CT5NLywWUAAwD2p

another fan-art from a different source

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 2.07.33 PM

Another favorite scene of mine

I am on my 18th episode (out of 20) and I am yet to see an episode that did not make me laugh so hard and cry so hard. The writers just know how to pull my heartstrings, every single time.

Oh, and just out of boredom, I took a quiz this morning about which Reply 1988 character I am (or I should date? I forgot the quiz’s premise). It was a bit expected. I can always see myself in either Bo Ra or Sun Woo, but not 100%.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 12.33.47 PM

But unexpectedly one question in the quiz caught me off guard:

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 12.30.46 PM

Like really, I don’t know how to answer this. If you put all the characteristics of my past romances (official or not) in a Venn diagram, the image would look like a fractal or something. They are so varied and unique, I must say. But I think I was also looking for a word that is not here: loyalty. The word just popped into my mind when I was trying to ask myself “Why do I love the people I have loved?”, “What did I see in them that made me decide, ‘okay, I am going to fight for this relationship until the end’?”

Yeah, loyalty to me is a very attractive. Perhaps I would be better off to just grow old with a dog. Lol.

Note to self: when you have found a job, and have paid all your debts, get a dog!

Anyway, back to Reply 1988, I need to finish watching the episode. I am not yet done with the series but I am already starting to feel some separation anxiety. *aigoo* This is one of those shows that I wish would just run forever. Just like Grey’s Anatomy, Arrested Development, and Pushing Daisies. Oh, and Gavin and Stacey, of course.

Are you interested in watching it, too? I am using this LINK.

Enjoy!

 

1988ep2pic22

I will miss this show. :,(

 

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

