ULSAN’S TAEHWARU

As this is my final semester I made a promise to myself to explore Ulsan more because, who knows, this could be my last chance to see this city.

One of my target sites to visit is Taehwaru (태화루). It is a traditional-style pavilion that is located by Ulsan’s main river, Taehwa River (태화), and near the old downtown Seongnamdong. Together with Taehwaru, I also aimed to visit this nice looking footbridge that I always see whenever I go to Seongnamdong or whenever I go to church.

I aimed to conduct my visit in the evening because I see it prettier with the lights and all. I will re-visit it on daytime next time, together with the Bamboo Forest (another item on my list).

IMG_9214

Sundaeguk (순대국) dinner to jumpstart my journey

Since I arrived at Seongnam-dong area a little early, I decided to visit this small wet market nearby, and this bakery that my friend Mayzonee has been raving about. In the market, I saw this sundaeguk shop and I was not able to resist to have a quick meal before I go to Taehwaru.

IMG_9222

The majestic Taehwaru

IMG_9218

There’s a good contrast between the “old” (Taehwaru) and the “new” (the modern-looking buildings at the horizon

IMG_9219

From Taehwaru, the footbridge (my second destination) can also be seen – check out the 3/2 arches at the right side

IMG_9223

Liking this shot with a mid-age couple strolling, plus the twin towers

IMG_9229

I wanted to capture the brick wall more closely

IMG_9232

Also saw cherry blossoms starting to spring

IMG_9233

This somehow reminds of the horror Korean movie, Wishing Stairs (Oh, my first sighting of Song Ji-Hyo *swoons*)

Now, off to the footbridge. 🙂

IMG_9234

Quite far… but the chilly breeze makes the walk nice and memorable

IMG_9236

Looking back at Taehwaru midway to the bridge

IMG_9237

IMG_9238

IMG_9239

With grasses to frame the bottom of the shot

IMG_9241

Oh, I’m nearer!

IMG_9242

Same shot but with the suspension cable lights off

IMG_9243

Nice reflection of the lights on the Taehwa River – oh, and I did not realize that night that to my right was the Bamboo Forest

IMG_9245

IMG_9247

Trust me, this is breathtaking to see in person

IMG_9248

Such a unique architecture – Oh, I love Korea!

IMG_9249

IMG_9250

IMG_9251

And so I arrived. 🙂

IMG_9252

IMG_9253

View from the bridge

IMG_9254

IMG_9255

IMG_9257

IMG_9271

IMG_9273

Hello from the other side

IMG_9258

Happy Lonewulf

IMG_9260

The city’s motto: “Ulsan For You”

It was such a nice evening for me. One (or two rather) crossed from my bucket-list.

 

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

