NAMINARA REPUBLIC – AUTUMN 2014

Please indulge me on this one final autumn post (for now. *grin*). I have been wanting to post about this for one year now, but apparently, I had difficulty in finding time. I took too many pictures in Nami Island, that I didn’t have the energy to sift through the gallery and choose only the photos that I think are worthy of posting here.

Anyway, here we go:

IMG_3260

Namiseom or Nami Island (or Naminara Republic) is a small, man-made(?) island located in Chuncheon a little bit north (or northeast?) of Seoul.

It is a well-known tourist spot in South Korea, most famous for being one of the locations of the Korean drama, Winter Sonata.

One can go there via Gyeongchun subway line, and getting off at Gapyeong station. Gapyeong, shown above, is the gateway town to Nami Island.

To go to Nami, you need to take a ferry ride from Gapyeong. You will have to pay a fee (I believe it is not that expensive, around 7,000-10,000 won?) to get a ferry ticket and a “visa” to be allowed to enter Naminara Republic.

IMG_3196

off to the ferry, with the mostly Chinese crowd

IMG_3207

Happiness πŸ™‚

IMG_3211

I first visited Namiseom in Winter of 2013, together with my friends, Lady Ira, Arigato, Shortstride, Reymund, and Hep. But I did not post an entry about it, or about the entire Korea trip for that matter, because I was undergoing something really really complex. I was in a dark, dark place at that time and I did not want to write about a happy experience.

 

IMG_3283

Forgive the vanity please. It was my first autumn after all, and I was really enjoying the view, and the cold, and the stress-free atmosphere.

IMG_3240

IMG_3251

IMG_3250

IMG_3262

IMG_3268

IMG_3340

Bye, Nami.

—-

After the tiring afternoon of enjoying the view and endless photoshoot, of course, we had our obligatory dose of Ppyeohaejangguk!

My friend drove to this neat roadside haejangguk restaurant. I was flying out that night so I had to have the best farewell lunch. πŸ™‚

Ugh! Namiseom. I hope to see you this winter, when you will be blanketed with virgin white snow.

I can’t wait! πŸ™‚

 

P.S. Really loving this photo-mosaic functionality. Good job, wordpress!

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

One comment

  1. Pingback: LADY IRA IN KOREA – GAPYEONG ADVENTURES (PETITE FRANCE and NAMI ISLAND) | Lonewulf's Den

Leave a Reply

