LOST IN TRANSLATION

http://www.thecloudblueprints.com/2014/03/23/still-lost-in-translation/

There are just movies that you can watch over and over again.

I can name not a few, but for now I really want to talk about this movie that has touched me deep down. It is called Lost in Translation, and if you have not seen it yet I urge you to do so, as I think it is one of the movies that you would probably love a lot.

I first saw it when I was still a teenager. And I realized that no matter how many times I watch the movie, it will give me that same melancholic feeling every time. It was very simple, no overly dramatic effects or grand story line. But it just takes me to “that” place. That place where I can see my innermost self, just lurking, watching the world as it revolves.

Lost_in_Translation_poster

Also, I did not realize that it was Sofia Ford Coppola’s until today. Perhaps I just watch the movie and then leave the movie house or shut down the movie player (and not even bother to read about it online) because I was already in a strange place.

I also realized how good Scarlett and Bill Murray were in this film. Like not juts good good. They were actually excellent. I can see their characters’ souls right through their eyes. How genius is that?

And I won’t even tell you about the plot or anything. Because I would rather have you experience it yourself. Whether you would feel the same way as I did or not, it doesn’t matter to me. All I know is that this film will remain as one of those few in my archives that I would say, have touched me and defined me, and has spoken to me on so many levels. Not a lot could do that.

Screen Shot 2015-10-29 at 12.02.29 PM

P.S. Being in a foreign country at the moment, and immersed in a culture that is in many ways similar to Japan’s, perhaps have made this latest re-watching of the film more meaningful to me than ever.

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

