WHOM DO YOU GET UP FOR?

In times like this, I always recall this simple TV commercial in the Philippines that was launched a few years back. It was the coffee brand Nescafe, and it was centered on the theme “Para Kanino Ka Bumabangon?” (For Whom Do You Get Up In the Morning)

Here’s a copy of that video I found in youTube:

It was a basic question, yet we tend to forget this sometimes. It seemed easy, but it begs to answer, what is your purpose for getting up in the morning? Why bother leaving your warm cozy bed? Why eat breakfast, tread the morning traffic, and live your day? What for?

Just a few minutes ago, I got up for my morning toilet routine. It was still very early. And actually, it’s getting colder these days (which I like so far). And then I saw some guy from the house across us, he came out of his door, left his house, and went to walk towards the bus stop. Based on his get-up, I am guessing he’s off to work (on a Sunday!).

And then it dawned on me… Para Kanino Ako Bumabangon Ngayon?

(For whom do I get up these days?)

Screen Shot 2015-10-25 at 6.57.13 AM

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

