SEOUL WEEKEND

I really am feeling some sort of angst at the moment, but I don’t want to write any of that here. I already did in my personal (non-online) journal last night, and I was surprised at its length.

Anyway, before that angst was a blissful weekend that I really wanted to put here in my blog so I can remember about it later.

After a grueling semester, I desperately needed a break. However, I do not have the moolah for that. Fortunately, my friend Taegill sent me a message if I could meet him and another Korean friend, Jim, in Seoul, as he is leaving for the Philippines. Both Taegill and Jim are now based in Boracay but they were in Seoul for a visit.

Taegill is paying for my roundtrip bus fare (yes, I’m that dirt poor), so YES is the only answer to his invitation. πŸ™‚

I left Ulsan early Saturday morning and I arrived in Seoul around lunch. Taegill bought ppyeohaejangguk for lunch as he knew it is my favorite! I was not able to take pictures of it. See how excited I was to eat the dish?

Anyway, we went straight to Jim’s place after. It took us time to find his flat, as it will be Taegill’s first time to meet Jim in Korea (they have only met through work in the Philippines). When we got there, I was awestruck at his home. I have been to his apartment in Boracay and I thought it was really really nice. But this one, much much nicer. It is very spacious, the place is spic-and-span, and it smells really good.

After a little rest, we went to a nearby joint to eat samgyeopsalΒ and have some soju. Those were the biggest slices of samgyeopsal I have ever had, no joke. So I was really full. And then, Jim told me that this was just round one. He said we were still moving to a second place as the night was still young. I chuckled at his joke only to find out later that he was serious.

Us getting cozy; Jim likes to take selfies

Us getting cozy; Jim likes to take selfies

While waiting for the samgyeopsal

While waiting for the samgyeopsal

IMG_6100 IMG_6101 1434876165560

that's some big-ass samgyeopsal, I tell you

that’s some big-ass samgyeopsal, I tell you

IMG_6103 IMG_6104

sooooooo juicy and delicious!

sooooooo juicy and delicious!

We went to a second shop, and we had more soju. This time we had the orange-flavored soju and it was really really good! Well, it’s not exactly orange but something citrus and color orange, which I was told was not edible as a fruit but used a lot as flavoring.

Taegill doesn't like to take pictures

Taegill doesn’t like to take pictures

But I do

But we do

ordering more food and drinks

ordering more food and drinks

IMG_6107

fish waffly thingy

fish waffly thingy

IMG_6109

some cheese sticks (left ones have beef in them)

some cheese sticks (left ones have beef in them)

lovely lovely assortment :-)

lovely lovely assortment πŸ™‚

this is innovative. :-)

this is innovative. πŸ™‚

Dead

Dead

It was so good, I died. Haha.

Jim took this picture of me (the casualty that evening). And he asked me the next morning, “What happened to you last night? Patay!”

[Patay = Filipino/Tagalog word for “dead”]

Anyway, Taegill had to catch his flight and I had to catch my bus ride back to Ulsan. It was a brief but awesome weekend getaway and I really had fun. I love Seoul. I love Korean people. I love Korean food. I love soju! πŸ™‚

Seoul and Ulsan are around five hours apart by bus (only 2+ hours by train – but much more expensive), but I did not care. The experience was well worth the exhaustion. And besides, I like long bus rides. Especially if the view is good. Unlike Philippines, South Korea is not an archipelago. Aside from Jeju and other smaller islands, the country is one big landmass. Hence, you can take a bus ride across. Wow, I just realized I went from southeastern South Korea (Ulsan) to northwestern South Korea (Seoul), and back. In one weekend! Whew!

20150621_174822

great view of mountains and trees - I wish we could stop in the expressway and take pictures - there were so much more nicer view I wanted to capture

great view of mountains and trees – I wish we could stop in the expressway and take pictures – there were so much more nicer view I wanted to capture

Sunsan Hyoogesa - a stopover

Sunsan Hyoogesa – a stopover

There's also a nice lake at the back of the stopover

There’s also a nice lake at the back of the stopover

taken around 7pm

taken around 7pm

chicken tteok galbi and mango juice for dinner :)

chicken tteok galbi and mango juice for dinner πŸ™‚

I was really worn out when I got back in my room, but I ain’t complaining.

It was such a nice Seoul weekend. πŸ™‚

20150621_222811

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: SEOULITE FOR WINTER | Lonewulf's Den

  2. Pingback: DETOX | Lonewulf's Den

Leave a Reply

