AUTUMN IN MY HEART – HERB ISLAND, A PIECE OF HEAVEN HERE ON EARTH

I just realized that I have not yet completed all my entries for my autumn trip last year.

So to continue with my first autumn adventure, let me share with you a post about this lovely lovely trip to Herb Island, a place I would boldly call as a piece of Heaven here on Earth. πŸ™‚

It is located in a mountainside somewhere in Pocheon, in Gyeonggi-do (a province just adjacent to Seoul).

My friend Taegill told me he just wanted to show me this place full of herbs, before we would ultimately head to Gapyeong to sleep for the night. Still getting amazed by the cold autumn weather and the fiery foliage around me, I nonchalantly said “Okay”, oblivious to the wonder that was waiting for me.

My first glimpse of Herb Island

My first glimpse of Herb Island

Grecian architecture - nice touch

Grecian architecture – nice touch

IMG_2978 IMG_2979 IMG_2980 IMG_2982

Some herb-based merchandise - ooh, if only I've got the moolah, I'd get one of each product

Some herb-based merchandise – ooh, if only I’ve got the moolah, I’d get one of each product

Oh, Tea!

Oh, Tea!

Wish I could have taken you all home with me

Wish I could have taken you all home with me

IMG_2986 IMG_2988 IMG_2991

And there's a water play thingy too, for the kids

And there’s a water play thingy too, for the kids

IMG_2993

Nice flowers :-)

Nice flowers πŸ™‚

IMG_2996 IMG_2997

It is like a huge wonderful garden, hidden behind the mountains, in a land far far away

It is like a huge wonderful garden, hidden behind the mountains, in a land far far away

IMG_2999 IMG_3001 IMG_3002

A Venetian plaza - smacked at the center, with festive colours, and which features some performances

A Venetian plaza – smacked at the center, with festive colours, and which features some performances

You can actually ride gondolas

You can actually ride gondolas

IMG_3005

Loving the place so much. :-)

Loving the place so much. πŸ™‚

IMG_3007 IMG_3008 IMG_3009 IMG_3011

There were also dinosaurs at one corner, and kids can ride it. Aigoo! I'm so envious, wish I had been to this place when I was still a kid.

There were also dinosaurs at one corner, and kids can ride it. Aigoo! I’m so envious, wish I had been to this place when I was still a kid.

IMG_3013 IMG_3015 IMG_3017 IMG_3018

This alley is like a trip down to South Korea's memory lane - features some old-fashioned shops

This alley is like a trip down to South Korea’s memory lane – features some old-fashioned shops

Some ceramic souvenirs

Some ceramic souvenirs

Some traditional items for sale

Some traditional items for sale

IMG_3022

This part is a house full of candles(!), and scented oils(!), and perfumes(!), and many many more cute things. I think this is my favorite house in the entire Herb Island.

This part is a house full of candles(!), and scented oils(!), and perfumes(!), and many many more cute things. I think this is my favorite house in the entire Herb Island.

The basement of the house had some massage chairs where you can relax for free, plus they will give you some heated thingies (see that purple object around my shoulders?), that contains some herb essences inside - very very soothing. The warmth relaxes your shoulder muscles, plus the scent simple takes you to some happy place

The basement of the house has some massage chairs where you can relax for free, plus they will give you these heated thingsies (see that purple object around my shoulders?), that contains herb essences inside – very very soothing. The warmth relaxes your shoulder muscles, plus the scent simply takes you to some happy place

IMG_3025 IMG_3026

Ahhhh... Heaven

Ahhhh… Heaven

IMG_3028 IMG_3029 IMG_3030 IMG_3031

Seriously, I wish I own this entire house right here

Seriously, I wish I own this entire house right here

IMG_3033 IMG_3034 IMG_3035 IMG_3036 IMG_3037

There's even more in the attic!

There’s even more in the attic!

Cute. :-)

Cute. πŸ™‚

IMG_3041 IMG_3045 IMG_3047 IMG_3048 IMG_3049 IMG_3050 IMG_3052

Oh, the show will start!

Oh, the show will start!

IMG_3054 IMG_3055

Quick selfie with Taegill

Quick selfie with Taegill

And the dancers are out

And the dancers are out

IMG_3061 IMG_3066

They are very beautiful and mesmerizing

They were very beautiful and mesmerizing

IMG_3070 IMG_3072 IMG_3073 IMG_3075 IMG_3080 IMG_3082 IMG_3083

Yay! The evening lights are now being turned on

Yay! The evening lights were now being turned on

IMG_3085 IMG_3088 IMG_3089

Inside a garden with some tropical plants

Inside a garden with some tropical plants

IMG_3091 IMG_3092 IMG_3093

dessert-break :-)

dessert-break πŸ™‚

IMG_3095

lovin' my vanilla ice cream :-)

lovin’ my vanilla ice cream πŸ™‚

IMG_3098 IMG_3099 IMG_3100

this is an awesomely-shaped tree

this is an awesomely-shaped tree

IMG_3102 IMG_3103 IMG_3104 IMG_3105 IMG_3106 IMG_3107 IMG_3108 IMG_3111

Nice! When I checked the brochure upon arrival, I saw that the whole island will be filled with colorful lights in the evening.

Nice! When I checked the brochure upon arrival, I saw that the whole island will be filled with colorful lights in the evening.

IMG_3113 IMG_3115 IMG_3117

Arghs... my camera just don't do justice to the lovely scene. Trust me, this is a lot better in person

Arghs… my camera just don’t do justice to the lovely scene. Trust me, this is a lot better in person

Racing with Santas

Racing with Santas

IMG_3123

some donkeys (or are those mules?) that small kids can ride on - another feat of envy of mine

some donkeys (or are those mules?) that small kids can ride on – another feat of envy of mine

Then there's this heart where you can write some wish or messages and dangle it in the tunnel together with the other hearts

Then there’s this heart where you can write some wish or messages and dangle it in the tunnel together with the other hearts

IMG_3126

The tunnel of hearts

The tunnel of hearts

And they lit up, too

And they lit up, too

IMG_3135

I hate my camera - I actually was inside the tunnel when they turned the lights on. The sight was amazing that I cried at that moment. Yup, embarrassing but true.

I hate my camera – I actually was inside the tunnel when they turned the lights on. The sight was amazing that I cried at that moment. Yup, embarrassing but true.

IMG_3137 IMG_3138 IMG_3139 IMG_3140 IMG_3142 IMG_3143 IMG_3144 IMG_3145 IMG_3146 IMG_3147 IMG_3148 IMG_3149 IMG_3150

Some bears - arghs! I need to find better quality images on the web

Some bears – arghs! I need to find better quality images on the web

IMG_3152 IMG_3153 IMG_3157 IMG_3161 IMG_3163 IMG_3165 IMG_3166 IMG_3167 IMG_3171 IMG_3172

Herb Island is a Shangri-La hidden behind in the mountains and I recommend this to anyone who has enough time to go outside Seoul. It is very lovely, and very relaxing, especially for those who like herbs, scents, fragrances, and similar words.

.

.

.

Oh, I also found these images on the web (atΒ mysocalledcreativelife.com). Better captured evening view of Herb Island.

herb-island-lighting-festival-1-e1398514592899 herb-island-lighting-festival-6-e1398515073461 herb-island-lighting-festival-11-e1398514880924 herb-island-lighting-festival-13-e1398514806272

.

.

.

I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. πŸ™‚

IMG_3174

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

One comment

  1. Pingback: AUTUMN IN MY HEART – PPYEOHAEJANGGUK OVERLOAD | Lonewulf's Den

Leave a Reply

