ULSAN WEEKENDS – DAEWANGAM PARK

When I first arrived in Ulsan, I was surprised to see that the city is actually huge. I had been imagining it to be a small suburb, with few places to see. Boy, I was glad to be proven wrong.

First, I saw a lot of dance studios around the city! Yay to that! πŸ™‚ Although I can’t afford them at the moment.

So, I will focus more on the FREE places to go to in Ulsan.

First up: DAEWANGAM PARK.

This is a park situated at the easternmost part of the city, and yes, probably, one of the easternmost parts of the peninsula.

The park is adjacent to Ilsan Beach, and it features some very nice rock formations and lighthouses.

The View of Ilsan Beach - I actually like it.

The View of Ilsan Beach – I actually like it.

The sea

The sea

IMG_5275

Coastline

Coastline

IMG_5278 IMG_5279 IMG_5280

With my Filipino friend Jenica

With my Filipino friend, Jenica

That remarkable bridge in the park

That remarkable bridge in the park

IMG_5285 IMG_5286

Some Fishermen

Some fishermen

IMG_5289 IMG_5290 IMG_5291 IMG_5292

Jjamppong! Spicy but tasty seafood soup. :-)

Jjamppong! Spicy but tasty seafood soup. πŸ™‚

Snacks to keep us going

Snacks to keep us going – because the plan was ‘to study’ in the park

IMG_5297

The dragon slide

The dragon slide

Reminds me so much of Baguio (just 20 million times colder)

Reminds me so much of Baguio (just 20 million times colder)

Cherry Blossoms starting to bloom

Cherry Blossoms starting to bloom

IMG_5301 IMG_5302

"Shabu" Bar? Lol

“Shabu” Bar? Lol

Curry meal

Curry meal

I think Daewangam is a well-maintained leisure spot in the city, and I would love to see more of it in the future. It is relaxing, and I particularly liked that you can breathe fresh air from the conifers, plus a brief walk will take you to some nice sea breeze coupled with a wonderful seascape.

Other places we can spend some nice weekends in:

The Ulsan Grand Park

I did not take a lot of pictures, because I know I will definitely be back here, especially when the flowers have bloomed. πŸ™‚

So for now, please bear with these images.

Memorial

Memorial

IMG_5310 IMG_5311

Manila Town

Who would have thought that there will be a Filipino-owned Filipino-style bar in the middle of a remote city in Korea?

Located in the Ulsan’s old downtown Seongnamdong, the ambience inside the bar will take you back home. It screams Manila in all corners. πŸ™‚

Aside from being able to use the karaoke for free, you can also do it with the live band playing right behind you. How cool is that?!

IMG_5431 IMG_5432 IMG_5434 IMG_5435 IMG_5436

Singing like pros

Singing like pros

IMG_5438

.

.

.

I think I am going to like living in this city. πŸ™‚

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

