DESPIDIDA

Despidida is a common Filipino word of Spanish origins, and if I’m not mistaken it means “a farewell party or gathering”.

As my recent post narrates that I just left Philippines and came here to South Korea to study, I had a round of despididas right before I left. They were not like big events or something. They were mostly more intimate bonding times with some groups of people that I will surely miss while I’m away.

Also, most of it were spontaneous, last-minute, but memorable nonetheless.

Guys, these are some of the groups of people that I am really missing so badly right now:

MY MS FINANCE CLASSMATES

For approximately two grueling years of juggling graduate school and work, I came to make lasting bonds with some of my classmates. Aside from sharing a passion for Finance, these guys are maroon-blooded (a term we coin for the alumni of my alma mater, just in case you don’t know) like me. And you know how people who went to the same schools tend to have the same philosophies and idiosyncrasies right? Thus, I am so glad to have actually met these people and have developed friendships with them.

IMG_4674

Karaoke bonding at James' pad - We love karaoke!

Karaoke bonding at James’ pad in QC — We love karaoke!

Coffee time in BGC

Coffee time in BGC

IMG_4801

Lonewulf, Denmark, Merika, and Dia

Lonewulf, Denmark, Merika, and Dia

IMG_4806 IMG_4807

MY PRU LIKE UK OFFICEMATES

I think the largest chunk of my career was spent in Pru Life UK. Hence, it follows that I have created strong bonds with its employees, especially the people I used to be in the same department with.

We had been through a lot of things… meeting deadlines, undergoing trainings, team buildings, company competitions, and even non-work activities.

I can say I am friends with a large percentage of people from the company, perhaps because of the nature of my job there – Operational Risk Analyst, i.e. I had to go around and know the risks of the entire operations.

Anyways, I was only able to meet with a few of them, like my boss and my usual crowd. And also with these people right here, who are in the same department as I was, and who also lives near where I used to live.

with Joseph and Chinggu

with Joseph and Chinggu

with Melai

with Melai

IMG_4774

cupcake bonding in Vanilla Cupcakes in BGC

cupcake bonding in the quaint Vanilla Cupcakes in BGC

IMG_4773

Kheng, another integral part of the gang, was not able to come. 😦

DANZA

IMG_4782 IMG_4784

These were the guys that I met at the gym way way back when I was still a fresh graduate and has just started to get to know my way around the big city.

We were part of a dance group of Slimmers World – Legaspi branch, which was formed to compete in a dance competition (among gym members across the country) back in 2010 (was it?).

Anyway, it seemed like we more than “clicked” as we still spend some quality bonding times even years after the competition, and even if some of us were not members of the gym anymore. We especially meet up during special occasions like if one of us celebrates his/her birthday, or some Christmas gathering, et cetera.

I love these guys a lot, and I know that even if we did not spend so much time with each other, we have created such strong bonds that I’m 100% sure would last a lifetime.

Last lunch bonding with Joey, Mickie, Kristia, and Pearl. Doc was in Germany at this time, so he ain't with us.

Last lunch bonding with Joey, Mickie, Kristia, and Pearl in Mozu, BGC. Doc was in Germany at this time, so he ain’t with us.

IMG_4992

A Viber message from Kristia

A bittersweet Viber message from Kristia

MY DEUTSCHE BANK OFFICEMATES

I can’t even start telling you about how deeply grateful I am with these guys. 2014 was a dark dark year for me, and without them, I seriously don’t think I would have made it through.

My team - Prijm, Choon, Marvin, Inada, Jasmin, me, Arman, Gel, and Dyan

My team – Prijm, Choon, Marvin, Inada, Jasmin, me, Arman, Gel, and Dyan

These people were extra-competent, and competitive, which I really really like. But mostly, these guys are human, with their own back-stories, and a strong fire burning in their hearts. And the best thing about my team-mates, is that they are crazy hilarious! We are obscenely noisy, and proud, and evil (not in a bad way), and hardcore. I spent not a single dull moment in the office, because of these guys. I actually always looked forward to going to work every morning because I am excited with our daily banters.

I could have worked with these people forever, if only I did not move here to Korea. I was happy with them. Like really happy.

Meters, Marvin, and Dyan

Meters, Marvin, and Dyan

Marvin, Arman, and Dyan

Marvin, Arman, and Dyan

IMG_5056

IMG_5064

I have huge respect for these guys because of the value that they put into their work. Two “Team of the Month” awards just last year is a testimony to that.

We can get dead serious about our jobs, without losing the fun. We simply work in style. And how lovely can that be?

Last lunch out with my teammates at Uncle Cheffy, Burgos Circle, BGC -- this was the day before I left for South Korea

Last lunch out with my teammates at Uncle Cheffy, Burgos Circle, BGC — this was the day before I left for South Korea

IMG_5032 IMG_5031

A gift from my officemates

A gift from my officemates

with the funny Joross Gamboa, I mean, Edgar

with the funny Joross Gamboa, I mean, Edgar

IMG_5067 IMG_5068

with Madam Jasmin

with Madam Jasmin

with Papa Vince

with Papa Vince

And here is the first “Wish You Were Here” photo my teammates sent me.

Doing a Korean pose for me. :-)

Doing a Korean pose for me. πŸ™‚

I so miss these guys!

MY ELBI FAMILY

This part is a little tricky to write because my Elbi family is quite big. I have people from UPLB Street Jazz, UPLB Tubong Dabaw, UPLB SAMAPI, UPLB Dance Sports team, my blocmates, and my “tropa” (most of which are either from Pisay Davao or is a Bisaya). Also, Elbi is such a huge part of me, so I can not really write a short description here.

So I will just post some photos of people who were there to see me right before I left. Yes, the night after I spent my last day at work, and the very night before I flew to Korea.

The couple Romichard (Romina and Richard)

The couple Romichard (Romina and Richard)

Cyril

Cyril, the chef, brought me one of their specialties that night… a salmon dish I would never forget

With Batch Owtu ('02)

With Batch Owtu (’02) — Ida, Cyril, Wrej, Lonewulf, Romina (and husband Richard).

Owtu Da Best!

Owtu Da Best!

IMG_5137 IMG_5140 IMG_5141 IMG_5142 IMG_5144 IMG_5145 IMG_5146

We just had a quick dinner in SM Makati. And then all of them went on their way, except for Wrej, who accompanied me all night while I juggled packing my luggage, having drinks, and hitting the karaoke.

That night felt like the shortest night of my life. 😦

I would also like to post these photos that Xan, another Batch Owtu co-dancer and a very VERY close friend of mine, edited and sent us.

IMG_5421

IMG_5739

This is really sweet. Xan has been there in most part of my life. He and Wrej had witnessed most of my uppest ups and my downest downs. I so miss this guy.

And it makes me more sad to know that he is now having some personal issues and that I am just not there by his side, as he had been there for me in my dark dark 2014.

*sigh*

Be strong, Xan. And just fight back. We are built awesome, and we are not easily overcome by circumstances. FIGHTING!

.

.

.

Anyway, there is one more that I miss so much right now… my Mama and Papa. 😦

Need to get used to this for now... at least I can see my family from time to time.

Because flight tickets from home to Manila are expensive, only Mama came over to see me.

She arrived on my last week in the Philippines. It was sooo short of a time. I really wish I could spend a lot more time with my family. 😦

Treating my Mama to a nice  - and cheap (she doesn't like it if I treat her to an expensive dinner) - meal in Market! Market!

Treating my Mama to a nice – and cheap (she doesn’t like it if I treat her to an expensive dinner) – meal in Market! Market!

my loving Mama

my loving Mama

Sheeeesh… I am feeling so lonely right now.

I wish they are all here with me.

I miss you all so much!

Arrivederci.

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

