AUTUMN IN MY HEART – SOYOSAN MOUNTAIN TREKKING

IMG_2905

To continue my posts about my Autumn trip, let me share about this side trip we had at Soyosan (or Mount Soyo). Soyosan is one of South Korea’s mountains located north of Seoul. It has a hiking trail, the start of which is just a stone’s throw away from Soyosan subway station. Soyosan is the last station of Line 1, the same line that has Seoul Station (if I am not mistaken), and the other end of which is Incheon International Airport. How convenient is that?

I just realized that Soyosan is pretty accessible. But anyway, we went there not via subway but via car, much to my enjoyment, since I was able to see a good view of the mountainside and its glorious autumn foliage.

This is the start of our Soyosan journey

This is the start of our Soyosan journey

Noticed there were quite a lot of cars parked, considering we were already in the countryside

Noticed there were quite a lot of cars parked, considering we were already in the countryside

An egg structure welcomes the hikers

An egg structure welcomes the hikers

IMG_2887

some random couple by the egg

some random couple by the egg

IMG_2889

Here's where I realized that a lot of locals are into hiking - most of them are seniors (healthy healthy seniors!)

Here’s where I realized that a lot of locals are into hiking – most of them are seniors (healthy healthy seniors!)

IMG_2891

selfie with the orange colors - please forgive the tropical islander (this was my first autumn!)

selfie with the orange colors – please forgive the tropical islander (this was my first autumn!)

IMG_2892

resting by the bench...nah! just loving the colours of autumn

resting by the bench…nah! just loving the colours of autumn

 

people having picnic under the autumn shade

people having picnic under the autumn shade

a dried river to our right

a dried river to our right

people having picnic 'in' the river

people having picnic ‘in’ the river

the map of the trail

the map of the trail

and here's where the trekking starts to get more exciting

and here’s where the trekking starts to get more exciting

IMG_2901

saw an arch with a bell - believe it's Buddhists belief to ring this for some peace of mind - at least that's what my Korean friend told me

saw an arch with a bell – believe it’s Buddhists belief to ring this for some peace of mind – at least that’s what my Korean friend told me

lovely canopy

lovely canopy

at this point, I realized that  discounting snowboarding in winter, Autumn would have to be my favorite season, hands down

at this point, I realized that discounting snowboarding in winter, Autumn would have to be my favorite season, hands down

IMG_2906

IMG_2907

A small pond with fish

A small pond with fish

IMG_2909

The temple area

The temple area

IMG_2912

IMG_2913

IMG_2914

IMG_2915

IMG_2916

IMG_2917

IMG_2918

waterfalls - now almost dried up

waterfalls – now almost dried up

IMG_2921

IMG_2922

IMG_2923

me with Taegill

me with Taegill

IMG_2925

IMG_2928

IMG_2929

Downstairs

Downstairs

 

IMG_2931

IMG_2932

IMG_2933

IMG_2934

IMG_2935

IMG_2936

 

caught some fiery maple leaves

caught some fiery maple leaves

IMG_2938

Must have a picture with my first autumn trees

Must have a picture with my first autumn trees

IMG_2940

IMG_2941

IMG_2942

IMG_2943

IMG_2944

IMG_2945

IMG_2946

IMG_2947

IMG_2948

IMG_2950

IMG_2951

IMG_2952

IMG_2953

IMG_2954

IMG_2955

IMG_2956

IMG_2957

 

IMG_2962

IMG_2963

IMG_2964

IMG_2965

 

IMG_2966

IMG_2967

 

This reminds me of Avatar - Legend of Korra

This reminds me of Avatar – Legend of Korra

IMG_2970

autumn vines - I'm so loving the colours!

autumn vines – I’m so loving the colours!

IMG_2974

I’m so sorry about the amount of pictures I loaded in this entry. Trust me, I already whittled away what I can from my photo gallery. I simply loved the colours of autumn.

 

 

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

