AUTUMN IN MY HEART – MYEONGDONG

One of my favorite places in Seoul is Myeongdong. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_2807

It is a vibrant area downtown full of upscale shops that are mostly cosmetics and fashion brands (as I noticed). As Korea is arguably the cosmetics capital of the world, you will see different Korean cosmetic shops sprawled across the Myeongdong network of streets. A lot of tourists also frequent this area.

As for my case, though, I have three main reasons for always coming to this place (aside from buying discounted toners and facial masks):

1. favorable FX currency rate from any money changers in the area

2. Myeongdong Cathedral

3. Han’s Deli

I also like the fact that the place is always busy and that the populace consists of a good mix of locals and foreigners. Whenever I go to Myeongdong, I would instantly feel like shouting, “Hey, I’m in one of the major cities in the world!”.

 

And in this entry, I would like to give you a little tour of how I see Myeongdong. ๐Ÿ™‚

some street food vendor

some street food vendor

 

IMG_2812

IMG_2810

 

Etude House in the house

Etude House in the house

IMG_2806

Zara

Zara

 

IMG_2789

IMG_2811

The Face Shop. Nature Republic. Innisfree. TonyMoly. Holika Holika. Skinfood.

Name any Korean cosmetic brand, I’m betting my hat it’s present in Myeongdong.

Plus, you also have your usual global apparel brands like Converse, Zara, Adidas, et cetera. Myeongdong is practically a one-stop shop for the shopaholics!

 

 

Now, as a Catholic, I was fascinated to learn that South Korea, a predominantly Buddhist nation (I presume), has some Christian members of its community. And one of its more famous Christian churches is actually located in this shopping district.

IMG_2793

 

This is the Myeongdong Cathedral. It is also as splendid in the evening, trust me! It was on my first night in Korea back in 2011(? or 2012?) ย when I first laid my eyes on this religious structure. I liked that it has a European air in its architecture. The whole compound actually feels more like classic Europe to me (not that I have ever been to Europe, but at least from the books I read and the movies I saw).

The entryway

The entryway

IMG_2802

IMG_2792

 

Is this cobblestone?

Is this cobblestone?

 

IMG_2790

IMG_2798

Selfies with the prominent turret

Selfies with the prominent turret

IMG_2800

 

I also liked how in Myeongdong people are very fashionable. Very nice view, but not as intimidating as Gangnam.

 

 

Anyway, before I end this entry, I’d like to share these…

the dollar to won conversion I was talking about - much much cheaper compared to what's being offered at the airport

the dollar to won conversion I was talking about – much much cheaper compared to what’s being offered at the airport

I also visited my good friend Dale, and he cooked some yummy calamares for moi

I also visited my good friend Dale, and he cooked some yummy calamares for moi

IMG_2816

And then I went back to my place - Lookie, there's that fun pedestrian lane again. :)

And then I went back to my place – Lookie, there’s that fun pedestrian lane again. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

P.S. Sadly, I was not able to eat at Han’s Deli last Autumn. But I did in my previous visits and I can say that the food was really good. ๐Ÿ™‚

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

