AUTUMN IN MY HEART – WORLD HOTEL

It’s not usual for me to stay in pricey accommodations. Why would I? I mean, I would go into a place to see the view, experience unique activities, eat food, chat with locals. And you do all that outdoors. Heck, in as far as I’m concerned, an accommodation is nothing but a place to snooze in and take a bath in. So why pay a steep price for that?

Also, there was a time when I revisited the Excel files I created in the past which contained my budget for each of my travels. I made some tabulations and charts and here’s what I found out, a huge bulk (~30-50%) of my budget goes to accommodation. [I excluded airfares in most cases since these are normally paid off many months before the actual trip]. I was actually surprised that even after choosing the cheapest B&Bs, it would still eat up most of my budget. Ergo, when I travel I always make a conscious effort to consider the cheapest hostels/B&Bs, but with minimum basic amenities, i.e. a bed, a clean bathroom, must be proximal to civilization, has heater (if I travel during winter) – that’s it! And of course, a free wifi connection would be great but not necessarily a requirement for me.

Anyway, for my autumn trip last week, I did not choose a cheap place (AFAIK, it wasn’t cheap). It was located in Dongducheon, a relatively sub-urban area (compared to Seoul).

It’s name is World Hotel. And although it was called such, it was more of a motel than a hotel. Located on the 9th and 10th floor of an almost indistinguishable commercial building squeezed in between two other commercial buildings. I didn’t find the elevator on the night of my arrival so I had to use the stairs whilst heaving my luggage, all the way up to the 9th floor, where I found the reception area. To be honest, I did not expect much because the neighborhood was almost shady, and the building was, as mentioned earlier, quite hidden. Like Diagon Alley kind of hidden.

To my surprise though, when I entered the 9th floor corridor (from the fire exit… lol), the place was spic and span. And the ambience was very relaxing. I’m almost certain I was transported into a different world.

Didn't even notice the coffee-maker and the microwave. I was drawn instantly to the aquarium - the sound of the bubbles was very soothing, I recall.

Didn’t even notice the coffee-maker and the microwave. I was drawn instantly to the aquarium – the sound of the bubbles was very soothing, I recall.

The (luxuriously-lit, imo) hallway

The (luxuriously-lit, imo) hallway

I can’t really put into words how awestruck I was with the place. The last time I felt like the place was too extravagant for me was when I stayed in The Excelsior in Hong Kong, and even the feel of that did not come close to World Hotel.

In my defense though, I did not pay for either The Excelsior or the World Hotel. The Hong Kong trip was a company paid trip (inclusive of airfare!). And the latter was courtesy of someone really close to me. (Haha, showbiz?)

So anyway, the receptionist gave me a key that says I’m on the tenth floor. And that’s when I realized that there was an elevator. Whew! I thought I was going to use the stairs for my entire stay. πŸ˜€

The room entrance

The room entrance

a very spacious room, with very nice interior design

a very spacious room, with very nice interior design

look at those parallel lines with not-too-ostentatious details

look at those parallel lines with not-too-ostentatious details

The dresser

The dresser

IMG_2754 IMG_2755 IMG_2740

my first selfie :)

my first selfie πŸ™‚

The bathroom

The bathroom

And the luxuriously-shaped bathtub

And the luxuriously-shaped bathtub

nice wooden panels that divides the 'bedroom' and the 'living area'

nice wooden panels that divide the ‘bedroom’ and the ‘living area’

the desktop computer and the humungous TV

the desktop computer and the humungous TV

IMG_2747 IMG_2748

the very comfortable bed

the very comfortable bed

while taking pictures, my mind was wondering how much this place costs

while taking pictures, my mind was wondering how much this place costs

IMG_2753

that geometric wooden detail that adds a lavish accent to the wall and the ceiling

that geometric wooden detail that adds a lavish accent to the wall and the ceiling

The view from the window

The view from the window

The other side

The other side

mini-cooler with free water and soda (I'm guessing Chilsung Cider, a famous drink in Korea)

mini-cooler with free water and soda (I’m guessing Chilsung Cider, a famous drink in Korea)

me before retiring for the night

me before retiring for the night

IMG_2759 IMG_2758

It’s not everyday that I get to experience such luxury, so I might as well put it in my blog. To me remind in the future, when I encounter this post again, that once in my life I had such a nice place of accommodation, during my Autumn in Korea.

πŸ˜€

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

