TEAM FOSTERING

A couple of weeks ago, our office team had a team building at Eugenio Lopez Center in Antipolo. I was part of the planning committee, so I think I was more excited than most of the people from the team. I am relatively new to the company so I don’t know (yet) what kind of activities people would like.

Anyway, the team building was set to start in the morning with outdoor activities. Then there’s a lunch break. And then indoor activities were to take place in the afternoon. The theme was Survivor-ish (yes, the TV show) and we were divided into four “tribes”. The groupings though were mostly the same as our Sportsfest groupings last Summer.

I was part of Red Team (Tribo Jabari). The other three were Yellow (Timbuktu), Blue (Teambuh ang Bumangga Giba) and Green (Tribo Gandara).

IMG_2612 IMG_2617 IMG_2618 IMG_2614 IMG_2615 IMG_2616 IMG_2619 IMG_2620 IMG_2621

The pictures above were the outdoor activities. Most of the challenges were really strenuous. And being the Sportsfest champs, we were extra pressured to win. We should be. After all the trash talkings that have ensued weeks into the actual team-building. We paraded our “bragging rights” more garishly around the office, telling people to practice very well so that they would place second to us. Lol.

Anyway, we weren’t particularly the frontrunner in the outdoor activities but we never placed last in any of the games.

I wasn’t too bothered though because I know that the main event will not happen until the afternoon. And it is this big game of Wheel of Fortune, Battle of the Brains, Survivor, Charades, Pinoy Henyo, Spelling Bee, et cetera et cetera all rolled into one. And I knew that I am more competitive in this front.

IMG_2622

delicious lunch

delicious lunch

So anyway, to cut the story short, we won the main event in the afternoon! YAY! However, the Yellow team, who had been winning most (err… all?) of the morning activities was still leading. And we were in second place.

There was a last activity and it was about naming all the people (and the team) in the entire Trade Capture team. Yellow Team failed miserably at this while we placed first. After many counting and recounting of the scoreboards, the organizers announced that the ultimate winner was the Tribo Jabari! The Red Team! Yes, US! Weeeeeee!!!!

*whew*

That was a slim win. But a win, nonetheless. πŸ™‚

Overall, I really had fun. I was able to get as physical as I could and at the same time had a good session of mental exercises. Also, it was nice to see people getting down and dirty, and fun. πŸ™‚ I particularly was surprised with one of my favorite officemates, Jasmin, who is a natural demure. I never thought she’d be able to display such agility in the outdoor games. Good Job, Jasmin!

IMG_2623

the hilarious Baboy, Bahay, Bagyo game

the hilarious Baboy, Bahay, Bagyo game

IMG_2626

Singapore Rates Middle Office (my team), sans one teammate, Renz, who went home early

Singapore Rates Middle Office (my team), sans one teammate, Renz, who went home early

my team, with the boss

my team, with boss Weng

After the exhausting day, we still felt celebratory. Hence the BGC (and vicinity) people decided to grab some drinks at McKinley Hill before we called it a day.

IMG_2630 IMG_2631

(L-R) Jasmin, Inada, Lonewulf, Fitz, and Marvin

(L-R) Jasmin, Inada, Lonewulf, Fitz, and Marvin

By the way, the members of the winning team (that’s us… yeap!) each received an SM gift card worth Php500.

Sweet!

I used it to buy meself a decent power bank which I knew I badly needed for my Korea trip which will happen a week after the team building (I’ll be posting about that next).

IMG_2641 IMG_2685 IMG_2686 IMG_2687

Oh, and it did not end there. Since the event seemed to be Β successful, the boss decided to treat the members of the planning committee. Yay!

We had a scrumptious lunch at Kitchen’s Best just meters away from the office. πŸ™‚

my lunch... a wonderfully cooked salmon with spinach

my lunch… a wonderfully cooked salmon with spinach

IMG_2644 IMG_2645 IMG_2646 IMG_2647 IMG_2648 IMG_2649

I am really happy with my current company, mainly because of its people. πŸ™‚ I am so not leaving anytime soon. [Except of course if an irresistible opportunity comes up – but me shan’t be thinking about that for now]

I am just glad I am becoming a happy person again. πŸ™‚

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

