HOPING TO BID ‘CHANDA ROMERO’ SAYONARA SOON

What have I been up to lately?

Well, actually, after I finished grad school last April I have realized that I now have more time in my hands. And I wanted to make good use of it.

Sure, there are the certification exams that I wanted to take soon-ish, mostly for career advancement. However, my brain was too worked up from the rigorous two-year calisthenics that was my Masters, so am now technically on a mental hibernation.

Also, after TJ died last January, I have been mourning, crying, drinking, wallowing a lot. My friends even noticed I have been “off the grid” for a while (exact words of Damian – she really knows me well).

So I realized, why not (finally) focus my time on this project that I have been wanting to do for the longest time. And that is to have a better looking body. A Marc Nelson physique would be ideal, but I’m not setting my goals too high just yet. For now, I just want to be able to wear some of my shirts and pants again (you see, I woke up one day and I realized I couldn’t fit into most of the items in my wardrobe).

So lately, I have been able to observe that I am getting reeeeeaaallllyy fat. Like when I look at the mirror, I will just foucs only at my face and say, “Wow! I have nice eyes.”

IMG_0458

In Baguio few months ago

In Baguio few months ago

inside the office elevator few months ago

inside the office elevator few months ago

In Korea few months ago

In Korea few months ago

Look at that unsightly midsection. 😦

My friends have been teasing me Chanda Romero, a funny slang for ‘chan’ or ‘tiyan’ (belly).

Some of you might say I am exaggerating. But you see, most of my life I have been the skinny type. Or at least I have an average body with lean midsection.

Lonewulf (far right) during college

Lonewulf (far left) in college

Lonewulf at Hundred Islands (2-3 years after graduation?)

Lonewulf in Hundred Islands (2-3 years after graduation?)

But now… I don’t know what happened. *SMH* 😦

So anyway, I want to have that flat abdomen back. And so I started trying to get physically active lately. However, it is really a struggle. I have no dance gigs now, not actively part of any dance group, and I’m very busy with work as well. So yes, I have been trying but I’m not seeing substantial results, much to my dismay.

Until one day, I found a really good motivation. That was my officemate, Marvin, who made an out-of-the-blue comment while I was showing him a funny dance routine from a group of topless guys. We were laughing while watching the video. And then he said, “You’re a dancer too, right? Then why isn’t your abs the same as theirs?”

Me: GASP!

*lighting-thunder-thunder*

Me: OHHhhh… NO, you di’nt!

Me: You… YOU impolite, shitfaced, shameless, tact-lacking cow!

But of course, I did not really say that. I just chuckled. “Yeah… I’m not really dancing a lot lately.” And my mind went… EFFIN EFF?!! Did you just challenge ME?!!

Okay, I wanna go home now and start planking.

lol

But seriously, that one innocent question of his got me moving for a few weeks now. And honestly, I am starting to feel a difference. I am able to wear some of my shirts again. YAY! And I am more confident when I look at the mirror. I am not saying that Chanda Romero is totally gone. Most likely that will not happen this year. All I’m saying is that I am starting to build this active routine again, which I observed is working. And hopefully I will be able to flaunt a leaner abdomen by early 2015. πŸ™‚ *crossing my fingers*

two weeks ago

two weeks ago

few days ago

few days ago

Wish me luck!

IMG_2519

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

