THE OFFICE MOB

So yesterday, we caused a fairly noticeable ruckus in the office just moments after people started to call it a day. And when I said ‘we’, I meant me and my teammates.

What transpired was a raffle of sorts for the vacation leaves this coming December.

You see, for most people here in the Philippines, December is a month full of holidays. Heck, it is the month that contains Christmas and New Year’s Eve. A time for family. Ergo, if there would be a month in the year that you would think about going home and be merry, it would be December.

However, our team is actually the bank’s middle office for all of its businesses in Asia (excluding Japan, since another team was dedicated to that). And almost all of our client countries do not treat Christmas and New Year as holidays, much to our disappointment. 😦

Hence, when our supervisor announced that only a few will be allowed to go home for the holidays and that we will be raffling it just for the sake of being fair, we all caused a commotion in the office [just like children getting excited around the piñata, waiting to get their share of the goodies].

 

So, to cut the story short, I got December 30. Not really a good day, since I was gunning for December 31, as most of my teammates. And so imagine all the negotiations and bribery that ensued afterwards. *grin*

After much displaying of charm and soliciting of pity, which I know did not work unfortunately because I still have to offer a one-week worth of lunch treat and some goodies from my hometown, I was able to get December 31. YAY!

Now, I only have to negotiate with two other officemates for January 2 so that I will be able to book until the first week of January. Yeah, me shall be doing that in the coming days.

Speaking of vacations, for the rest of the year, I was able to book two other vacation leaves. One will be my Mandatory Time Away (or MTA) which will take place from end of October to early November. And the other one, which I am very very excited about, will be an autumn trip to Korea — my hometown ( :b ).

Oh, by the way, I have two good news. Mostly for myself at the least.

First, I am now starting to train for Mumbai shift and I will go live with the process starting next week. You see, we have this internal arrangement in the team where one person would have to take the Mumbai shift (alone) to handle Mumbai trades. It sounds lonely, but for me, it means I am now trying to catch up with the team. I can feel it really. I am starting to get back on track (since my first few months in the company didn’t turn out to be as rosy as I wanted it to be just because I have been emotionally distressed). And soon, if I just push back hard enough, I will be back to my rockstar self once again. I am very very excited. I missed being great at what I do.

 

The other good news took place a couple of weeks back… WE WON TEAM OF THE MONTH!

Sweet, eh?!

10569090_10203484781773322_2492736228960949220_n

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

