TRICHOPHILIA

So I was fetching my cousins at school because my Aunt Nene asked me to. It was my flight the next day to somewhere nice, and I decided to sleep over at my aunt’s because her place is in Parañaque and it is nearer to the airport. And since “you are coming over anyway, can you fetch Brian and Paulo at school?”

Wow, Paulo is already in school? Last time I remembered my aunt gave birth to him at a hospital in Intramuros. Time flies fast.

So anyway, being the obedient nephew that I am, I just said ‘yes’. It was not much of a hassle anyway. And to cut the long story short, I went by Brian’s school and fetched him, he recognized me the instant he stepped out of the classroom, and he ran towards me and gave me a big hug. Then we both walked to Paulo’s school to fetch the younger brother.

When we arrived at my aunt’s place, I was surprised to see my two other aunts, Sandy and Maya, were there too. They were having an afternoon snack and were having a chitchat about life and stuff. We exchanged hugs and hellos, and then I told them I’ll go to the room to fix my luggage. As I hunched down so that I can pass between them without making further interruption in their talk, my hair swayed and fell onto my face. It itched a little, so I brushed it off using my hand and tucked it towards the back of my head.

“I noticed your hair has gotten longer,” Aunt Maya said to me. That was when I realized she was right. Now, when did I start to grow my hair back? I can’t seem to remember. “The last time I saw you I remember you were sporting a skinhead.”

“Yeah, you said your hair was thinning just like Tatay’s and Manong Mec-mec’s, so you decided to shave everything off,” added Aunt Sandy.

I was halfway to the kitchen when I saw myself in a wall mirror. Funny, I remember I was skinhead, too. And yeah, why do I have long hair again? I examined my hair through my reflection, brushing it here and there, using my hand. It is unbelievably shiny jet black, and healthy – as it was when I was a teenager.

“I don’t know. But yes, I am sporting this hair now.”

Maybe it was the aloe vera I had bought and tried to use to counter my hereditary alopecia. But that was a long time ago. And I only used it irregularly. Oh well, whatever it is, I’m happy to have my thick hair back. I could not even hide the smirk on my face.

“I’m thinking I should drop by the salon before I go to the airport tomorrow. I want to have my hair styled,” I announced as I continued to examine my hair narcissistically through the wall mirror. “Maybe I will have it layered. It is the trend these days, I saw it on TV.”

And I saw my Aunt Nene tried to hush a smile. I know she always liked me with long hair. I remember when I graduated in high school, she took me to a salon and treated me to a hair spa or something as a congratulatory gift. So it is safe to say she was as disappointed as I was when I learned that my hair was thinning.

I looked at myself in the mirror one last time. I have decided, I am keeping this hair length.

“No more skinhead for a while,” I smirked at my owned reflection

And that’s when I woke up.

DAFUQ!

 

.

.

.

It was just a dream?

Sheeez… how annoying.

 

================

Wrote this entry a day after we had a candid talk in the office about my “missing” hair and how it used to be there when I was younger. Oh Yes! I wasn’t always bald, geez. Here’s the proof:

Used to have long, thick, healthy hair

Used to have long, thick, healthy hair

And I liked styling it a lot

And I liked styling it a lot

fggrb

Back in high school

Back in high school

Can you spot the "hair-ed" version of me?

Can you spot the “hair-ed” version of me?

with Tope

with Tope

with Jayson

with Jayson

with blocmates

with blocmates

with Dancesport teammates

with Dancesport teammates

with Cyril

with Cyril

with Wrej and Louie

with Wrej and Louie

with Citi officemates

with Citi officemates

with Urban Elite

with Urban Elite

with Mama (college graduation, 2008)

with Mama (college graduation, 2008)

with SAMAPI people

with SAMAPI people

with SAMAPI again

with SAMAPI again

DSC_5355  ret(resize)

fdg

Pistyur(291)

Pistyur(302)mmm

n801142597_1018783_1073-001

Image(111)

Image(144)

 

 

I really loved my hair. Hence, I was a bit depressed when I learned my hair was thinning. Fudge! Genetics. -.-

Luckily, skinhead complements me just as well. Or so I’d like to believe. ^_^

 

 

another vanity shot. :) sorry, this one's my favorite.

SALT & SPICE: Mission Accomplished CROSSED-OVER: NEW IN 2011 & 2012 THAT WITH THE ORCHID BANNER - The Rest of the Story

Prepped for Day 2 - a trip to the city

Me with City of Dreams at the background

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

