DILEMMA DILEMMA

Okay. So I may not be in as bad shape as I was in the first half-year of 2014, and I am now beginning to feel I am moving uphill, HOWEVER, I am in such a great dilemma at the moment.

So, uhmmm… how should I put it?

Uhmmm…

Okay. So I am currently working for a bank. I started just January of this year. And while I have the goods to not only survive, but excel at work, I unfortunately encountered a nasty circumstance in my personal life, which got me emotionally distressed for a while (to levels I couldn’t even fathom with my even wildest imagination). Bottomline: I haven’t been performing as well as I wanted to, and I seemed to be losing heart. In short, I had a bad start. [Although, I could honestly say I had been doing well past couple of months, and I think I’m on the right track to curb myself back into the game.]

THEN, here comes Company 2. When we graduated in Masters, we all had been receiving emails here and there, inviting us to apply for certain job posts. I was particularly eyeing development programs and one of those I actually submitted a CV to was Company 2. >>>>>Fast Forward>>>>> I became part of the Top 25 of this year’s cohort, hence I got a job offer. It was very enticing because (1) it will be a Team Leader position, (2) there is a promise of close mentorship, (3) we will be given projects from time to time, ergo, extra opportunities to perform and shine, and (4) the moolah… yes, the moolah(!)… Let’s just say, on a net basis, Β I will get more than double of what I had been getting in my previous job (not the current, just to note).

Admittedly, I had been in a pinch finance-wise, and it’s another long story. I hate to admit this, but this personal issue has been a huge part of my emotional distress in H1 2014. And the salary offer of Company 2 might just be the solution that I had been trying to grapple lately.

 

Oh FUCK! The coffee shop is closing. I need to finish this now.

 

Long story short: I am torn between staying in my company (bad start, good role, very likeable teammates, ideal bosses, competitive environment) and moving to Company 2 (moolah, fresh start, slightly better rank, moolah, promise of mentorship, development program, uncertain career landscape, and moolah).

Oh, by the way, I also got Company 3 and Company 4 to make the mix much messier, but I shan’t be talking about that now, as I barely have time to write. But yeah… I know right? This is not your usual Pros-Cons/Cost-Benefit type of decision-making. It certainly is not just two-dimensional, but more on multi-dimensional, with an intricate web of syllogisms that necessitates extreme caution.

Fudge! What the hell am I blabbering about?

 

Shop is really closing. I have to go.

Good luck to me!

HAYAYAY CORAZON!

HAYAYAY CORAZON!

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

