FISH FILLET IN CORN SAUCE

(from yesterday – 10 May 2014)

So a very very good friend of mine, Wrej, is having her solitude/soul-searching/precious-me-time in Puerto Galera right now. And she has been updating me of her whereabouts from time to time. We were supposed to both go, because we wanted to find a place where we can get wasted, be ourselves, strip down to our innermost cores, and cry and shout at the top of our lungs all the emotions that we have been containing in our respective bodies.

But then I have this placement exam in UP (at the Department of Linguistics) which the school scheduled so that they would know which module they should put me in. Yes, I am continuing my ‘exploration’ of the Korean language, but that is beside the point for now.

What I really want to say though is that I am here now at Centris, having my own solitude/precious-me-time. I just finished the placement exam, and I had nothing else to do until later tonight when I would attend the birthday celebration of my Korean classmate Bumcheol. And while leaving the campus this morning, I felt really hungry. So I decided that I would eat at the first store I’d spot that would whet my appetite.

Aaaaand…  *drumrolls*      Hap Chan it is.

I have seen this store many times in different places but I don’t exactly remember if I have actually dined in one. So I sat down, browsed the menu quickly and ordered Fish Fillet in Corn Sauce, Beef Balls, and Hong Kong Iced Lemon Tea.

The moment I entered the store, I felt nostalgic. I remembered that very exact feeling I had the first time I entered an authentic Chinese diner when I was in Hong Kong, back in 2011 was it? It was my first time to be abroad, and I traveled alone, so yeah, I was having precious-me-time as well back then.

Fish Fillet in Corn Sauce

Fish Fillet in Corn Sauce

Hong Kong Iced Lemon Tea and Beef Balls

Hong Kong Iced Lemon Tea and Beef Balls

Succulent meat balls, oh how I love thee!

Succulent meat balls, oh how I love thee!

Lonewulf's lunch ensemble

Lonewulf’s lunch ensemble

When the Hap Chan food came, I took pictures immediately because I thought I should immortalize this moment and would want to remember how I exactly felt today when I would accidentally see these pictures some time in the future.

And then I took a spoonful of the Fish Fillet in Corn Sauce… ZWOOOOOPPP! I was back in the smoky Chinese diner somewhere in the humid streets of Causeway Bay, and it was 2011. Trust me, the food tasted exactly the same, and I couldn’t even believe it myself! Only, I remember the one I had in Hong Kong was a garoupa and what I was having here in Centris is cream dory. Or are these two the same? [I wrote about that HK fish fillet here]

Anyway, I was so happy about the food and while munching on it joyously, I concocted plans on how to accidentally end up again in this area and order the same items on the menu. Yes, it should be sort of ‘accidental’, otherwise the experience will not be the same.

IMG_0579 IMG_0573

Also, while eating, I was catching up on the latest season of Grey’s Anatomy. This might just be the sole surviving series out of all my favorite TV shows that can actually make me feel things.

Darn! I miss Pushing Daisies. I miss Arrested Development – err, the first three seasons I mean. The latest one was just an empty show that did not have the charm and the astounding humor as its predecessors. I also miss Gavin and Stacey, and Ness, and Wire in the Blood, and Patrick Jane, and Liz Lemon and Tracy Jordan.

😦

I wish I can be in college again and have the time of my life. I wish they would show Grey’s Anatomy forever! And I wish Yang is not leaving, as what I have been reading from my Facebook feeds.

Gosh! Now I’m blabbing random things again.

Okay, I’ll end this entry right about now.

 

————-

Hap Chan – Centris, Quezon Avenue MRT Station, Quezon City

Fish Fillet in Corn Sauce – P130

Beef Balls – P85

Hong Kong Iced Lemon Tea – P70

IMG_0578

 

 

 

P.S. Did I say that the Iced Tea was heaven?! I’m guessing it was made the same way as my iced tea back in HK, like a hot lemon tea at first, then chilled with ice cubes. Or something like that.

 

Yah, I know. Bye.

 

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

