THE COLD NEVER BOTHERED ME ANYWAY

Ever since I have first set my foot on the turfs of Baguio in February, I have always loved the place. Maybe I really do have a strong penchant for cold places.

Hence, when Mama and I were planning what we were going to do together while they are here (for my graduation), I suggested that we should go to Baguio. I also remember her telling me last February that she would like to accompany me to Baguio when they come over for my graduation, so that we can tour the place together. That was when she took pity of me since I was not able to visit the tourist spots on my first visit. And that unfortunate predicament took place because my friend Jason Paul “Jap” Nishiguchi, who promised to go with me and show me around on my first visit to Baguio, decided not to show up on the night of our travel — without any sort of notice that he’s not coming, without any explanation or apology afterwards, and without hearing from him that night even when I called him a gazillion times and even when he assured me earlier that day that he was all set for the trip.

That’s how Jason Paul Nishiguchi rolls.

And yes, I do not hate him. I hate what he did because I had to travel alone to Baguio (believe me, ‘traveling alone’ was not my issue; it was going to a place so deeply meaningful to me for the first time, knowing it will be life-changing, and wanting needing any of my persons to be there). So this is simply a smear campaign… a childish attempt at vengeance and justice.

And by the way, as a sign of repentance for his sin(s), Jason Paul Nishiguchi has already vowed to treat me sometime this month to an upscale all-you-can-eat Korean restaurant, upon my suggestion of course. If he will not bail out on me on this one, then I might just be able to award him my forgiveness. (Taray noh? Haha) We shall see.

So going back, we pushed for our Baguio trip. I, Mama, Papa, my uncle, Auntie, and her sons were supposed to go. But on the eve of the travel, one of my aunt’s sons had a fever so they decided not to go. Only 5 of us (including the hired driver) pushed with the trip.

Here are our pictures in the Philippines’ summer capital:

 

Papa, Lonewulf, and Mama

IMG_0247

IMG_0251

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mama, my uncle Manny, Papa

IMG_0252

 

 

Pampanga breakfast stopover

IMG_0259

IMG_0260

IMG_0255

 

 

 

First Stop: Holy Land

We all thought it was a religious shrine of some sort. When we got there, we realized it was like a theme park.

IMG_0268

 

Mama said she learned about this place on the news and she wanted to visit it. So visit we did.

But then we learned that the entrance fee is P350. So we decided to just wait in the car. Mama went in the theme park alone.

IMG_0271

 

 

Next stop: Baguio Botanical Garden

IMG_0276

IMG_0278

IMG_0283

IMG_0280

 

Me wearing an Ifugao native costume

IMG_0291

IMG_0298

 

The game lot. 🙂IMG_0301

IMG_0311

 

Some more pictures in the botanical garden

IMG_0338

IMG_0358

IMG_0356

 

Good thing we had a tour guide who volunteered to take pictures of us. 🙂

IMG_0364

 

Me by the torii.IMG_0372

IMG_0318

IMG_0346

IMG_0334

IMG_0288

 

 

 

The Mansion

Papa and I were too lazy to get out of the car at this point, so we just sat and ate corn. Mama and her brother though went for a quick photo op.

IMG_0380

 

 Mines View Park

Spectacular view of the mountains. I was not able to locate mining sites though.

IMG_0390

IMG_0391

IMG_0394

IMG_0392

IMG_0398

 

This is Mama attempting to murder the pink pony. Lol. Just kidding.

IMG_0403

IMG_0404

 

Then we bought some goodies in the bazaar.IMG_0406

IMG_0407

 

 

 

After the exhausting many hour trip, we rested in our rented apartelle.

It was spacious and I liked it a lot. There was a shower with heater, refrigerator, kitchen utensils, a cable TV and a good WiFi connection. I can practically live in this place forevah.

IMG_0414

IMG_0421

IMG_0416

IMG_0424

IMG_0420

IMG_0422

IMG_0423

 

The view from our balcony (overlooking Baguio City). Noice.

IMG_0417

IMG_0418

IMG_0419

 

The evening view.

IMG_0432

IMG_0433

When we were trying to locate the apartelle, we encountered a very steep slope that almost gave Mama and Papa a heart attack (figuratively, of course). So the original plan of going to the market and buying food to be cooked was cancelled.

Mama just purchased canned goods and noodles from a sari-sari store nearby, much to my and my uncle’s dismay.

No adobong pusit, no ginisang kalabasa, nada. 😦 We ended up having these for dinner. The misua was Mama’s attempt to console me. She knew it would make me smile from ear to ear. 🙂

IMG_0425

 

DAY 2

 

Burnham Park

IMG_0439

IMG_0452

IMG_0448

IMG_0450

IMG_0441

IMG_0458

IMG_0459

IMG_0453

 

 

 

 Philippine Military Academy

IMG_0477

 

IMG_0474

IMG_0470

IMG_0467

IMG_0484

IMG_0480

 

Lovers in BaguioIMG_0468

IMG_0489

IMG_0493

IMG_0472

 

 

I tried to contact a classmate from MS Finance who was a PMA graduate to see if he was there. Too bad, he was able to reply only after we had left for Camp John Hay.

Also, we were not able to take pictures of Camp John Hay because there was an event going on, a marathon or race of some sort.

 

 

The Lion

Our last stop before we left was the famous rock lion in Kennon Road.

IMG_0495

 

Shopping for pasalubong.IMG_0499

IMG_0501

 

We had fun with the hats so we did not take ’em off. Lol. Each cost P100, but we were able to haggle P260 for the 3.

IMG_0502

 

 

 

Lunch stopover somewhere near Urdaneta. We were all craving for bulalo.

So into a bulalohan we went. 🙂

IMG_0509

IMG_0506

 

And of course, to cap this entry, here are my compulsory I-am-so-bored-here-at-the-backseat-so-Imma-take-photos-of-meself shots.

 

IMG_0517

IMG_0513

IMG_0516

IMG_0523

IMG_0524

IMG_0519

 

Baguio was a really nice place. How I wish Metro Manila is as cold as Baguio.

I enjoyed the city even more because I was with family. Hey, I realized this was the first time that me, Mama, and Papa (that is our entire family, by the way) went for a vacation all together! 🙂

Hrmmm… Now I want us to go to more places! Let’s see… how many months or years do I have to skip eating to be able to purchase three plane tickets to Hong Kong…

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

