THE SECOND-HAND GAVIN AND STACEY

Nothing beats the original, is what I always say.

And I remembered those words when I learned about this new series called Us & Them. It was nothing fancy to me really until I learned that it was the American version of my Gavin & Stacey.

The latter perhaps is at the top of my roster of most favorite TV shows, which include other British series like Wire in the Blood, Little Britain, and Secret Diary of a Call Girl. I was so lucky to get hold of downloads of these shows, thanks to my HK-based British co-worker Sarah Ames. And fact be told, I did not think I would be fascinated so much with Brit TV at first.

Us & Them's Alexis Bledel and some guy

Us & Them’s Alexis Bledel and some guy

I am not discounting American shows as I am still in love with Arrested Development and Pushing Daisies, however, there is so much rubbish on American TV these days, and most British shows I believe deserve more praise and recognition (at least I don’t see it in my circles of friends).

If you’re curious about this new series, here’s the trailer:

Okay, it did seem a bit funny, and Alexis Bledel is such a darling. But I wouldn’t trade the original. I mean they made it very American that it lost that British idiosyncrasy. Which was very endearing. No overly intricate plot, no exceedingly difficult conflicts, no unexpected twists. It’s simply watching a group of people live their daily lives. 

For me, the British series will forever be one the funniest shows on earth!

(I now wonder how they will do that running joke in Barry Island about the Welsh language)

GAVIN-AND-STACEY-EP-5-001

GavinStacey_LRG

GAVIN AND STACEY SERIES 2

I’m not an anti-Us & Them though. And I’m not saying I will not watch it. I’m just saying, to each his own. There’s this really good series, and they badly wanted to bring it to an American audience. That’s just it. To each his own.

And again, I’m indifferent to its success, or non-success. I’m just glad that I was able to see the British Gavin & Stacey. The original.

(Okay, I’m blabbering now. Ktnxbye)

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

One comment

  1. Pingback: REPLY 1988 | Lonewulf's Den

Leave a Reply

