R.I.P. CROCS

In the aftermath of my Singapore rave, I would like to offer this eulogy to my well-loved white Crocs flops.

It “died” in Singapore last summer.

A moment of silence please…

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_5774

 

About two years ago, I purchased this lovely pair of white Crocband Flip. And it was an unusual move for me since I am not really into expensive apparel brands. I am not even a brand-conscious person – perhaps the only brands I would always prefer are M.R. Lee, Dockers, and maybe Levi’s, which I could never afford. However, when I was granted my first credit card two years ago, I was also granted P1000 worth of discount at Crocs. Ergo, I had no choice but to get an item from the store.

Another back story, I also used to care less about slippers, since I always wear shoes with my casuals. Hence, slippers were nothing but domestic articles of clothing for me. However, things changed when I was coerced by this person I used to date to purchase a pair of Havaianas. I believed there was no point in shedding lotsa bucks for a pair of slippers, but (un)luckily, the then bank I was working for conducts this periodic Havaianas sale in our building. I had no choice but to get us both a pair each! But you know what, surprisingly, I did not regret the purchase. My Havs were unbelievably comfortable it felt like I was wearing marshmallow. 🙂

After my Havaianas “died”, I resorted to a much cheaper alternative, Banana Peel. It was also comfortable and nice enough, but was not as soft as my Havs. It’s life span was shorter.

And then came Crocs.

DSC_0911

DSC_0913

DSC_0914

 

I never thought I would love a pair of slippers so much. It was very light and very comfortable to wear. I also fell in love with the color. It was stylishly cosmopolitan and it matches almost my entire wardrobe. Thus, when it passed away last summer (and on a foreign land at that!) I felt really glum.

So to commemorate my most favorite pair of slippers (yet), let me just post these images which serve as a remembrance of our togetherness. 😦

I will not cry, I promise… 😦

[background music: “I always thought you were the best… I guess I always will…”]

A1

Ziplining in Davao City

Ziplining in Davao City

removing my Crocs before ziplining

removing my Crocs before ziplining

"Love is in the Air" - with my bud Lesele Condeza

“Love is in the Air” – with my bud Lesele Condeza

Boracay - September 2012

Boracay – September 2012

Here is where I almost lost my Crocs - I left 'em on this raft after we went Reef-walking. Good thing I was able to convince our tour guide to go back to this raft after we parasailed.

Here is where I almost lost my Crocs – I left ’em on this raft after we went Reef-walking. Good thing I was able to convince our tour guide to go back to this raft after we parasailed.

Crystal Cove Island, Boracay - September 2011

Crystal Cove Island, Boracay – September 2011

at our home in Tagum while I was pretend-cooking

at our home in Tagum while I was pretend-cooking

South Korea (before we went snowboarding) - March 2012

South Korea (before we went snowboarding) – March 2012

with my cousin Rose Jane at Greenbelt 5

with my cousin Rose Jane at Greenbelt 5

Boracay - September 2012

Boracay – September 2012

IMG_2685

 

And here is Crocky’s final moments in Singapore…

(Yes, he has a name now.)

(And a gender.)

"Walking" on water to get to the island - we decided to skip the monorail since it was still a bit early

Going to Sentosa

(-.-)...zzzZZZ

in a bus stop in Aljunied

The quirky crowd

I bet it was not able to take all the jump shots we did in USS. Poor Crocky. 😦

 

*sigh*

Dear Crocky, you will always be remembered. Someday, I’ll have the courage and the moolah to replace you with a new pair of Crocs. I am actually crushing on this Prepair Flip II. *snigger* But for now, I am happy and content with my Skechers’ brown leather flops. I got it from an outlet store right before we flew out of SG.

Crocs - Prepair Flip II

Crocs – Prepair Flip II

 

—-

Photo source:

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

