THE BIGGEST LOSER…

Okay. So I am not the most punctual person in the world. And I am not even very bothered about it. You see, I am not really a morning person. I hate waking up early. Aside from finding it extremely hard to detach myself from a comfortable horizontal position, studies say that I am less productive during the morning. *grin* And besides, I hate perky morning people.

However, one recent event in my life have made me think about this bad habit. And that was when I was nominated to be a part of the Finance body in our company. “Finance body” – it was not the official name, but we call it that for the time being.

So anyway, it was part of the aftermath of our team building two months ago. To close the activity, our facilitators (the HR) have urged us to come up with department norms that would help us become a better team. I think you start to see where this is going. So yeah, we have to come up with norms in the office like greeting people in the morning, et cetera. And to pursue this initiative further, a sort of ‘task force’ was set up by the Finance management team to take care of all the dirty work… grrr.

To cut the story short, I was nominated to become part of this ‘task force’ and we are to come up with initiatives to achieve our target norms. One of the norms that was brought up was “punctuality”. Ding ding ding ding! There’s your gold. “Norm: A Finance employee is punctual.” However, being the notorious late-comer that I am I felt uncomfortable with this sort of rule. You see, I might always be late, but I make up for it by spending extra hours at work at the end of the day. And since I am now part of the Finance body, I have to change this bad habit.

Initially, I reacted negatively towards this. I was to some extent uncooperative in our Finance body meetings. But I realized one day, hey, it could be for my own good. I mean, yeah, punctuality entails you respect other people’s time and all that shit, but it could also get me to finish my tasks early. Allow me to leave early. Perhaps have a better lifestyle. Morning exercise for better abs? Haha.

And best of all, as a member of the Finance body, I could set a good example to other employees that it is always better to be early. Yada. Yada.

So anyway, to force myself to ride with this whole shebang, I devised a foolproof method that would help me break my bad habit. And here it is… Ladies and Gentlemen, you are now watching… the solution to our punctuality issues… my greatest opus in recent memory… the grandest event in Finance department this season…

THE BIGGEST LOSER… OF TARDINESS.

Yes. It is similar to that reality show about shedding weight. Only this one is about shedding ‘late’. Haha. Lame rhyme. Anyway, I challenged two other officemates to battle me in this competition. And seeing that it will only do us good, i.e. better office track record = higher chances of promotion, they readily agreed. Many others even wanted to join us. But of course, it is very important that you have a notorious track of tardiness to become eligible to join. So yeah, after cautious audition and elimination, and voluntary de-listing, only 5 of us emerged as the official contestants of The Biggest Loser… Of Tardiness.

ME

KAREN PATANO

EARL FORTUNA

JOSEPH CONSOLACION

and

JOYCE TIMBANG

Of course, cash is at stake. How else would we be interested to participate? *evil grin*

So today is Day 1. And I am so winning this! My usual 10am-ish arrival became, wait for it… 7:33AM.

HAH!

ARE YOU RRREEEAAAADYYY??!!!

MAGANDANG UMAGAAAAHH!!!

Wish me luck! I sincerely hope I can maintain this.

I am not much after the cash prize. I am in for the change. A good one. So yeah, I hope I start to appreciate mornings more from now on. 🙂

—-

Photo source: http://spokanefitnesssecrets.com/spokane-fitness-secrets/340/attachment/physzique-game-face/

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

3 comments

  1. Hahaha. You could’ve just summarized this post in 3 1/2 post: “There’s an incentive.”

    Good luck! 🙂

  2. Hahaha. You could’ve just summarized this post in 3 1/2 words: “There’s an incentive.”

Leave a Reply

