LOVELY HONGKONG AND SPLENDID MACAU

My first trip abroad was in 2011 (LINK1 and LINK2). For the first time in my life I set foot on foreign territory. It was awesome. However, my trip there was sort of business-y. It was a job interview! (I might consider writing about that experience someday). So I got to see only a glimpse of Hong Kong.

Actually, I instantly liked the city when I arrived. What with the uber efficient transportation system, the amazing airport, et cetera. So I promised myself that I’ll go back to this place some day. Also, my friend Ida (Shortstride), who went to HK and Macau with her mother, advised me that next time I visit the territory I should go see Macau as well. She mentioned about watching the shows Zaia and House of Dancing Water.

So anyway, last December, I went back to Hong Kong. This time I was in for a vacation. πŸ™‚

I went with my officemates: Kheng, Melai, Hep, Bryan, Lhena, and Joseph. And because I was pretty amazed with that trip, I made a video out of the pictures we took from the trip. It’s my first time to edit a video though, so please don’t expect a lot from it.

Here’s a link to the video:

In case you are not able to access the video, here are some of the pics we took.

Arrival at Hong Kong International Airport

Arrival at Hong Kong International Airport

IMG_3569

MTR moments

MTR moments

Chillin' while the others were exchanging currencies

Chillin’ while the others were exchanging currencies

Having good servings of noodles before heading to Macau

Having good servings of noodles before heading to Macau

Pag-aadik sa subway

Pag-aadik sa subway

IMG_3601

Macau Ferry Terminal

Macau Ferry Terminal

Candid shot (kuno)

Candid shot (kuno)

Me and Kheng at Sofitel

Me and Kheng at Sofitel

At the luminous Senado Square

At the luminous Senado Square

Christmas at the Square

Christmas at the Square

Me with City of Dreams at the background

Me with City of Dreams at the background

IMG_3731 IMG_3734

What a spectacular view!

What a spectacular view!

Extravaganza - Shades of gold everywhere

Extravaganza – Shades of gold everywhere

By the Venetian canal

By the Venetian canal

faux sky

faux sky

IMG_3811

(oil attack! haha)

(oil attack! haha)

IMG_3815

the boys

the boys

Finally! We have successfully asked someone to take a picture of us

Finally! We have successfully asked someone to take a picture of us

Prepped for Day 2 - a trip to the city

Prepped for Day 2 – a trip to the city

HK cityscape

HK cityscape

IMG_3874

View from the top

View from the top

In an observation deck at The Peak

In an observation deck at The Peak

View of evening Hong Kong skyline

View of evening Hong Kong skyline

IMG_3944

Lonewulf getting lost in the city

Lonewulf getting lost in the city

Lan Kwai Fong

Lan Kwai Fong

IMG_3964

On a double-decker bus

On a double-decker bus

Going home

Going home

Final moments before our flight home

Final moments before our flight home

Hong Kong and Macau are two lovely cities that I believe any wanderlust should visit at least once. And what’s good with these destinations is that you don’t have to spend a lot. For my entire trip, I only spent P10,000 or ~HKD1,800, sans airfare, but inclusive of accommodation, food, transportation, souvenirs, et cetera. And since I got the flight at promo rates, it was a pretty inexpensive trip all in all. πŸ™‚

However, I still was unable to watch House of Dancing Water. /* Zaia, I discovered, is now defunct. 😦 */ Thus, there are still reasons left to go back to HK and Macau. 2014, maybe? πŸ™‚

====

P.S. There’s a one hilarious story about how we almost flew back home without the girls, but I prefer to tell it in person. Ask me about this if we meet. πŸ™‚

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

