URBAN ELITE’S HELLO 2013

(L-R) Erik, Lonewulf, Sabrina, Glenn, Aylin, Maam J.Lu, Uno, Monde, Nanay Angel, and Ate Boots

(L-R) Erik, Lonewulf, Sabrina, Glenn, Aylin, Maam J.Lu, Uno, Monde, Nanay Angel, and Ate Boots

Yay! As I have said in my reunion post, I will be in a roll in posting entries that I should have written ages ago. So here’s another one. πŸ™‚

Last December, we were mulling over having a gathering for Urban Elite (the alumni leg of UPLB Street Jazz Dance Company) to welcome the new year. I dubbed the event “Hello 2013” to create an optimistic, forward-looking outlook for my brods and sisses. So anyway, despite the short notice, some people were able to come including our coach and second mother, Jocelyn Ann Luna.

We had a simple lunch at Sabrina’s place in Paranaque. We ordered Pansit Puti, barbeque, et cetera, and Sabrina cooked rice and hotdogs. πŸ™‚

IMG_4339 IMG_4338

Goldilocks cake courtesy of Reymund

Goldilocks cake courtesy of Reymund

my favorite - Pancit Puti from Olan's

my favorite – Pancit Puti from Olan’s

Maam Luna and her bunso, Junos :)

Maam Luna and her bunso, Junos πŸ™‚

IMG_4340

It was a simple rendezvous but I had so much fun. Not only we had an extensive catching up but we also had a re-telling of the entire history of Street Jazz, thanks to ehemm yours truly. I recounted to the young’uns how Street Jazz was in the olden days, and also I narrated the events that took place from 2004-ish until I graduated to update Nay Angel — she graduated way ahead all of us and went abroad to work.

Two days after the affair, we again met for a fabulous dinner at Hanaichi, courtesy of Nay Angel. πŸ™‚ Hanaichi has got to be the most Japanese Jap resto I’ve ever been in. And it serves sublime food that can only be prepared by (I assume) a master sushi chef.

(L-R) Noel, Lucky, Xan, Ayie, Nanay Aenj, Ate Boots

(L-R) Noel, Lucky, Xan, Ayie, Nanay Aenj, Ate Boots, Jude

with Jude

tempura

tempura

Onigiri!

Onigiri!

maki

maki

My favorite - Unagi maki with salmon and cream cheese. Hands down the best dish we ordered.

My favorite – Unagi maki with salmon and cream cheese. Hands down the best dish we ordered.

Salmon (?) Sushi

Salmon (?) Sushi

spicy ramen (?)

spicy ramen (?)

IMG_4352 IMG_4362 IMG_4361 IMG_4355

It was an uberly gratifying but equally extravagant meal that we normally can’t afford. Hence, Super Big Thanks to my Nanay Angel for picking the tab. πŸ™‚

After the scrumptious feast, we went to Starbucks in Bonifacio High Street to have some beverage. And since the coffee shop was full, we stayed outdoors. It turned out to be a good thing though because it allowed us to play a couple of games. Was it charades and Pinoy Henyo?

dividing into groups

dividing into groups

strategizing

strategizing

IMG_4358 IMG_4359 IMG_4360 IMG_4371 IMG_4370 IMG_4369 IMG_4368

It was really fun acting like toddlers. In a posh upscale area.

And of course, in every game, there should be winners.

3rd place was Erik - (un)happy with a Jollibee planner

3rd place was Erik – (un)happy with a Jollibee planner

2nd place were Nian and Sab - with GCs

2nd place were Nian and Sab – with GCs

And the big winner, Jude - receiving a mobile phone from Ate Aenj

And the big winner, Jude – receiving a mobile phone from Ate Aenj

Awww… What a night! I wish we could have more gatherings like this for Elite. And I wish that our friendship and brotherhood will last until we grow really really old. Naks!

I love you, guys! Happy 2013 to all of us. πŸ™‚

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

