PISAY GODS REUNION

Okay, okay. I know I have slacked in this blog for quite some time now. And this time, I can’t use my graduate studies as an excuse because we had a two-month break (April to May). However, can I just say that after the three non-stop trimesters from June 2012 to April 2013 I really felt like I was stretched to my limit? Hence, my brain shut down and it refused to entertain any thoughts unless they are meant to entertain. I refused to commit to any activities, like enrolling in summer dance classes, reading a book, or even writing blog entries. Thus, except for the regular daily office duties and my SG trip, nothing happened to me in the past 2 months. And in a way, yes, I do blame my graduate studies for my lack of energy to do anything.I just wanted to rest.

So anyway, rest happened. And now, the fourth trimester has begun. Since academic requirements are still few, I still have enough energy to write. YAY!

And amongst my long list of things that I have been wanting to write about (I realized it has become a long list, and the earliest subject was dated back in 2012 — shame on me), I am choosing my high school reunion as my first topic. Yes, “first”, because I am pretty optimistic that I can still write other entries after this. Especially now that I have gained access to a WiFi connection from another corporate tenant in my workplace, much thanks to my officemate who hacked the password. ๐Ÿ™‚

I graduated in high school in 2002. So that makes last year, 2012, our 10th year anniversary as Pisay graduates. Pisay, by the way, is a colloquial term we call our high school alma mater, Philippine Science High School. So, last year we had been talking about a grand reunion to be held in December. We realized it was quite a challenge to organize a reunion because we are all scattered not only throughout the archipelago, but a number of us have already moved abroad (Singapore, USA, Middle East, Denmark, etc.). So all the planning has to be done online. Also, inasmuch as I want to take part in the planning, I was too busy with my graduate studies (yes, this phrase will have to be interjected in all my entries these days).

So to cut the story short, December came and I was caught unprepared. Well, aside from being shy about some skin issues I’ve been having for months now, I was financially challenged at that time. I had a booked trip to HK and Macau, and also I had to go home to Davao to celebrate Christmas with my family and attend our 10th year high school reunion. Plus, the third trimester starts in January, meaning another huge disbursement for me.

I recall I was trying to manage my cash flows then, moving expenses here and there, collecting borrowed funds from friends, pushing bill payments to the hilt, only to find out that I can only ever survive that period by sacrificing two things: Disneyland and our high school reunion. Disneyland costs approximately P3000, while the reunion contribution is P2000. P5K savings – yay! The Disneyland bit was easy to accept as I have already enjoyed Everland, a theme park in Korea, earlier in 2012. Missing the reunion was a different monster though. I had always been active in our batch activities since high school — attending pretty rare night outs, helping out in our cheerdance and prom dance choreographies, et cetera. So it was hard for me not to be in our reunion, much more a 10th year reunion.

When December came, I stopped reading updates ย about the affair so that I won’t get envious of those attending. Until the very day came, I skipped all communications in Facebook regarding the reunion. Blah blah blah. Seriously, do you really want me to write about this excruciating part?

Fast forward.

So there I was, days after the reunion, stuck at home, when my high school batchmate Joni Mae Nuenay called me up and asked me to come over. They were celebrating her grandfather’s birthday and she’s inviting me and two other batchmates Hannah and Ana Rica to join the affair. Joni, Hannah, and I (and another one, Ebony) came from the same city (Tagum) and were schoolmates since grade school. Ana Rica now works in a mining firm close to Tagum. Ebony was not available that time, so that left the four of us as the attendees of our mini-reunion at Joni’s.

Hannah, Ana Rica, Joni, Lonewulf

Hannah, Ana Rica, Joni, Lonewulf

IMG_4206

IMG_4207

Joni is now on her way to becoming a full-fledged doctor. Or is she already? I forgot. Hannah, who has a degree in shame, what was it, Chemistry? (Or Computer Engineering? Sorry, I forgot.), now manages their family business, a chain of tailoring shops. Sheย by the way was the only girl in my grade school section who can beat me in Math. In all topics!ย She used to be based in Cebu, but now she’s back in Tagum. Ana Rica, on the other hand, and this one I’m quite sure I correctly remember, now works for a mining corporation as a metallurgical engineer. Impressive backgrounds, huh.

The house that Joni built. :)

The house that Joni built. ๐Ÿ™‚

After meals and desserts and stories and reliving the past, we went to the mall to loiter, just like the good ole days.

IMG_4211

MONTE VISTA - The picture doesn't give justice to the magnificent mountain view

MONTE VISTA – The picture doesn’t give justice to the magnificent mountain view

IMG_4215

IMG_4214

IMG_4212

IMG_4216

IMG_4217

Then, Hannah invited us to play Dance Central. I was very reluctant to play that game in public. I know my dance background is quite extensive but I really suck at Dance Revolution. This one? I wasn’t sure. But Hannah, the least inclined to dancing among us, was really keen on doing it. So Joni followed suit, forcing me to try it as well, what the heck.

IMG_4221

IMG_4222

IMG_4225

IMG_4226

IMG_4227

IMG_4228

IMG_4231

IMG_4236

IMG_4237

Surprisingly, I did fine! Yay! ๐Ÿ™‚

Despite the fact that I missed my big high school reunion, I was still happy I got to meet a few of my treasured batch mates. I did not realize I miss them so much until I was reunited with them again.

Pisaygods Reunion - December 2012

Pisaygods Reunion – December 2012

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

One comment

  1. Pingback: URBAN ELITE’S HELLO 2013 | Lonewulf's Den

Leave a Reply

