MISSING SUGARFREE?

One week into the term break and I already got bored. Like I was practically missing the stress (I know, it’s shameful). Thus, I started to look for activities to lessen the lengths of my idle time. [Read: Last Tuesday was a holiday and I spent the whole day doing nothing. I just stayed horizontal on my bed the entire time.]

However, I was actually looking for something that is not expensive. Our Singapore trip is just around the bend, hence, I need to scrimp my budget until then so that I will have enough pocket money for our 4-day vacay. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyways, I was trying clickthecity.com looking for free art exhibits perhaps or an indie film festival (I have always wanted to go to one but never got the chance). But what I found was this…sa wakas

Sa Wakas.ย isย a stage musical that features the songs of my favorite band, Sugarfree! Oh gosh, my heart jumped when I read “Sugarfree”. ๐Ÿ™‚ I so love this band, and their unique music that never fails to hit home. They had me at Kung Ayaw Mo Na Sa Akin. It was a humorous and melancholic song with sarcastic-bitter overtones. And complementing it was a funny (and at the same time sad) music video. From then, I tried to research more about their music. I really liked Makita Kang Muli, which is the soundtrack of the TV series Panday, Nangangawit, Dear Kuya, and the track that was played the most number times in my playlist for the whole 2006, Kwarto. The last one painted how my days exactly were at that time. However, it is only my third favorite Sugarfree song. The second top favorite would have to be Tulog Na. And my top favorite is ‘Wag Ka Nang Umiyak.

Ebe Dancel is such a genius! And I don’t think a lot of people realized that. I also consider myself ‘honored’ to be a fan of this band. Okay, did that sound weird? Whatever. I’m not ashamed.

I’m also not ashamed to admit that I cried during their final concert in Eastwood back in 2011. That performance marked their sad sad disbanding. Ebe cried towards the end of the show. Thus, most of the audience cried as well. And we stayed… wait, why am I re-telling this? I have already told that story HERE.

 

So anyway, I was hoping I could watch this Pinoy rock musical despite my uber tight budget. Okay, I promise that I shall do whatever I can to see Sa Wakas.ย If you are interested too, catch the show at PETA-PHINMA Theatre on any of these are the play dates:

April 13

April 14

April 19

April 20

April 21

April 26

April 27

April 28

I am not sure about the time, but I am guessing they have a gala and a matinee show for every play date.

These are the ticket prices:

SaWakasticket

WEEEEE! I’m so excited. ๐Ÿ™‚

See you there!

——

Not familiar with Sugarfree? Here’s one of my fave Sugarfree songs.

 

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

