PRU HALLOWEEN 2012

I know it is too late to post a Halloween entry but I really can’t help it. I have been wanting to share this experience but I just didn’t have ample time last November. Anyways, since it’s the Holy Week, and I don’t have any planned activity, I’ll take this opportunity to write about the experiences that I missed writing about (due to my busyness) but are also all too precious to be simply forgotten. Yes, “experiences”. Plural. So expect some other stale topics after this one. :-b

Anyway, it is an annual tradition in our company to celebrate the Halloween. And to provide the employees some form of entertainment/distraction, our Employee Welfare Committee launches this contest where employees decorate the office premises according to a particular theme. For 2012, our theme was “Apple Mobile App”.

Normally, I am one of the people that my officemates would go to for ideas. So one afternoon, I got myself worked up setting my creative juices into motion. Honestly, I did not have much as the theme was a bit restricting. Until I realized: employees will bring children that day so our floor’s theme should be something that kids can relate to. It should be either a recent craze or something vividly colorful. My suggestions: Temple Run for one half of the floor and Super Mario for the other half.

Kheng and Sir Lee (the CFO)

Kheng and Sir Lee (the CFO)

The team leader for the activity readily agreed, he was also thinking about Temple Run. Super Mario was a bit tricky as there are no Super Mario gaming applications in the Apple Store. However, I found a Super Mario cheat code app. And I thought we can get away with that, since technically it was still an Apple Mobile App. πŸ™‚

IMG_2960

Zetsu - a very creative officemates who took a big part in the whole activity :)

Zetsu – a very creative officemate who took a big part in the whole activity πŸ™‚

IMG_2962

my officemates were all at it, tried to finish work fast so they can still have enough time to help with the decorations

my officemates were all at it, tried to finish work fast so they can still have enough time to help with the decorations

my draft of the floor design :)

my draft of the floor design πŸ™‚

people in motion

people in motion

And the finished product?

.

.

.

.

IMG_2980

IMG_2982

IMG_2983

IMG_2984

Super Mario and some mushrooms

Super Mario and some mushrooms

Super Mario, Princess, and Luigi - funny story: that guy who portrayed Luigi was a new employee; he resigned quite early, and I never really remembered his first name. I have always called him Luigi. :)

Super Mario, Princess, and Luigi – funny story: that guy who portrayed Luigi was a new employee; he resigned quite early, and I never really remembered his first name. I have always called him Luigi. πŸ™‚

IMG_2989

IMG_2991

IMG_2992

It was very unfortunate that I got sick that day so I really did not get to witness the finished product in person. But thanks to Facebook, I was able to download some of the pictures. I only got a couple of shots from Temple Run though.

IMG_2993

Sadako in the temple. Lol. I heard they were able to scare the hell out of the kids.

Sadako in the temple. Lol. I heard they were able to scare the hell out of the kids.

IMG_2995

All in all, despite my absence on the very day, it was a fun fun experience. And what’s even better… we won! Yay! It’s always the Life Operations who wins this contest year on year, but this time, we beat them. Oh yeah!

IMG_2996

IMG_2997

===========

P.S. The guy who portrayed Mario is our company CFO, yes the very same person who helped me in obtaining my new laptop. πŸ™‚

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

