KIMCHILANDIA CHRONICLES: JEJU ISLAND – YAKCHEONSA TEMPLE

Kimchilandia Chronicles – Chronological recounting of Lonewulf’s great Korean adventure

=====
I almost forgot that I have not yet completed this series. Good thing I chanced upon the folder that contains the pictures of our trip to South Korea last March. Oh my, March? Wow! I can’t believe it took me a year to complete this series. 🙂
So anyway, to round up our day two itineraries in Jeju-do, we visited the very solemn Yakcheonsa Temple.
The Arrival
nice prairie feel :)

nice prairie feel 🙂

Shortstride with Yakcheunsa at the background

Shortstride with Yakcheonsa at the background

My turn

My turn

DSC_0779

DSC_0778
DSC_0775
DSC_0776
Haha

Haha

Oranges!

Oranges!

Arigato

Arigato

IMG_1475

The temple was in Seogwipo, and relatively near where we were staying, so we reserved it at the end of the day. Well, actually, the final itinerary in our list was Cheonjiyeon Waterfalls since it is just within the vicinity of our hotel (a few minutes walk according to some blogs), but for some reason we failed to locate it, thus making Yakcheonsa the final spot we visited.

Anyway, when we got to Yakcheonsa, we were already very exhausted, as you can see, this is how we spent our bus ride to the temple:
nganga

nganga

So I shamefully admit that at this point all I wanted to do was take pictures of me by the temple, then head back to the hotel and sleep.
However, the moment I set my foot inside the temple (after removing my footwear, of course) I instantly forgot about my tired legs. I was awestruck at what I saw.
This:
DSC_0781
It was grand. It was breath-taking and holy and majestic.
It’s… it was… superlative.
I will not pretend to know so much about Buddhism because all I could remember from my Asian history in high school were the words Siddharta Gautama, Nirvana, Hinayana, and Mahayana.
Golden Buddha

Golden Buddha

Shortstride and Buddha

Shortstride and Buddha

From a different angle

From a different angle

a red pole entwined with a dragon - look at the details of that

a red pole entwined with a dragon – look at the details of that

IMG_1481

DSC_0787
The temple was so full of ornate details which spells out “grandeur” at every nook of the place. Being there in the middle of it all made me realize how Buddhists revere their god. And even the solemn-ness of the temple will give you a feel of how sacred this place is.
I remember visiting Buddhist, Hindi, and other religions’ worship places during a field trip back in college, but I don’t remember feeling this awed. It felt like I somehow understood their religion and I felt the presence of their God, and I know that He’s no different from my God. I know, that sounded hypocritical or something but that’s how I exactly felt.

IMG_1492

very detailed carvings

very detailed carvings

IMG_1493

different angle

different angle

offerings

offerings

IMG_1489

IMG_1484

this section almost burned my eyes

this section almost burned my eyes

no amount of treasure can fathom how they value the greatness of their supreme being

no amount of treasure can fathom how they value the greatness of their supreme being

a lotus flower

a lotus flower

IMG_1480

 believe these are prayers

I believe these are prayers

DSC_0785

DSC_0784
Exhilarating experience! 🙂
I would never ever forget how I felt inside Yakcheonsa Temple. And I wish someday I can get to experience some more from this religion.
===============================
===============================
These are some of the images we took for the rest of our stay in Jeju-do:

IMG_1495

nice flowers we saw on our way back to the hotel signalled the arrival of Spring

nice flowers we saw on our way back to the hotel signalled the arrival of Spring

Are these cherry blossoms? I wonder.

Are these cherry blossoms? I wonder.

the rooftop of Jeju Hiking Inn

the rooftop of Jeju Hiking Inn

It was a cold night. And we were so frustrated about not being able to find Cheonjiyeon waterfalls. :-(

It was a cold cold night. And we were so frustrated about not being able to find Cheonjiyeon waterfalls. 😦

Until we found this warm and fuzzy scene. We were so clod that I felt like I found an oasis in the middle of the desert when I saw this diner.

Until we found this warm and fuzzy scene. We were so cold that I felt like I found an oasis in the middle of the desert when I saw this diner.

It’s time to eat!
People in Jeju barely understands, much less speak, English. So ordering dinner is always a struggle for us. Painful but fun! 🙂
now happy and warm

now happy and warm

IMG_1500

IMG_1505
IMG_1504
IMG_1503

IMG_1501

banchan

banchan

Galbi - my number one favorite Korean food!

Galbi – my number one favorite Korean food!

IMG_1507

IMG_1506

Let's EAT!

Let’s EAT!

IMG_1510

some seafood soup

some seafood soup

the tab

the tab

And then our Jeju subtrip ended. All in all I was very very satisfied. 🙂 And as my good friend Princess have told me, Jeju is much much much better than Seoul. For the two of us, at least. 🙂

IMG_1515

Happy crowd

Happy crowd

the very bumpy ride - our trip back was the most turbulence-packed flight I've ever had, it felt like we're in a scene from Final Destination. It's worthy of storytelling but of course, I don't wanna spoil the happy ending of this Kimchilandia series. :-)

the very bumpy ride – our trip back to Seoul was the most turbulence-packed flight I’ve ever had. It felt like we’re in a scene from Final Destination. It’s worthy of storytelling but of course, I don’t wanna spoil the happy ending of this Kimchilandia series. 🙂

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

One comment

  1. Pingback: TO KIMCHILANDIA WE WENT | Lonewulf's Den

Leave a Reply

