CRICKETS

Aside from dancing, there is another form of art that I really love doing. DRAWING.

Or sketching. Painting? Whatever you call it.

I like to draw things. I use pencil, or sometimes ink, sometimes charcoal, crayons, oil pastel, water color, etc. I like to draw portraits, landscape, still-life, manga characters. I simply love to draw! If you would have seen the back pages of my elementary and high school notebooks, you would see a gallery of random sketches.

IMG_3126

This here is my latest art work, “Crickets”. It is watercolor on cardboard. And it shows a portrait of me dancing. I copied it from a photo of mine taken during a performance in SM Marikina with my fellow dancers from Excess Baggage. (aww… I missed dancing)

Anyway, I’d just like to share how this thing came to be, from an empty sheet of white cardboard to a framed photo of me.

First, is the “copying” phase. Here, I just tried to re-create the image from the photo to the blank cardboard using a pencil.

Photo 0308

Photo 0310

And then the rendering of the color begins…

The arms went first

The arms went first

Then the shirt, abdomen area

Then the shirt, abdomen area

and then the right shoulder

and then the right shoulder

and then the left shoulder plus the rest of the shirt

and then the left shoulder plus the rest of the shirt

And then the pants -- by the way, this is the trickiest part because the texture is quite difficult to imitate

And then the pants — by the way, this is the trickiest part because the texture is quite difficult to imitate

then the head and the red Supras.

then the head and the red Supras.

VOILA!

I felt really happy after completing it, so yes, this has to be framed! πŸ™‚

I received a picture frame as Christmas gift two years ago, so I used it. :-)

I received a picture frame as Christmas gift two years ago, so I used it. πŸ™‚

Finished product

Finished product

YAAAY!!! πŸ™‚

I guess this was my only serious art work that I completed in the past year. Geez, was I that busy? Although, I remember sketching a geisha on a restaurant table (They put a cartolina on the table top and provide you with crayons so you can doodle while dining. Cool, right?!). It was at Toro, that Japanese-Mexican restaurant I talked about before.

my sketch

my sketch

the original artwork

the original artwork

doodle your boredom away

doodle your boredom away

I was with my friend Kristia at that time :-)

I was with my friend Kristia at that time πŸ™‚

Too bad this food hub ceased operating. 😦

And to honor that terrific restaurant, and to end this entry, let me just post this… the now extinct Volcano Roll of Toro. 😦

DSC_0989

========================

P.S.

I really don’t want to part with my drawing “Crickets”, and I am no Van Gogh. But times are hard and I need to fund my graduate studies. So if there’s any interested party out there, I might be willing to sell “Crickets” for Php 10,000.00 (negotiable).

πŸ™‚

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

