ANOTHER INCREMENT

Birthday Boy

Birthday Boy

The year has barely started and yet I have already celebrated one of the few big events for my 2013. Of course, I was born on a January so a celebration early in the year is an annual thing.

Back in college, I always loved celebrating my birthdays alone. Like seeing a movie, going to the spa, shopping, taking long bus rides to nowhere in particular. Alone. I’m almost always surrounded by people so some sweet “me”-time is the best birthday gift I could give to myself. And because I want to spend my birthdays solo,Β I got used to turning down dinner invites from friends and I even nearly missed a surprise get-together arranged my by Bisgwap friends in a restaurant in Grove, Los BaΓ±os.

So anyway, my birthday this year fell on a Sunday. A perfect timing to go to places and be merry. However, I spent most of the day on my bed either sleeping or watching Korenovelas (haha). Well, I actually had a lot of plans, like going to Wensha, or have a food trip in Binondo, or watch a couple of movies, et cetera. But I was so undecided on which one to do first, until I realized it was already nighttime.

I hurriedly took a bath and went to church. Then I decided to just have dinner at the nearest favorite restaurant from the church, ergo, Teriyaki Boy at Market! Market!.

peaceful ambience of Teriyaki Boy

peaceful ambience of Teriyaki Boy

Salmon Sushi - the best!

Salmon Sushi – the best!

I can't remember if this is torched salmon or some other kind of fish

I can’t remember if this is torched salmon or some other kind of fish

Salmon Maki with cream cheese. I repeat, cream cheese. :)

Salmon Maki with cream cheese. I repeat, cream cheese. πŸ™‚

I have always loved the superb Chicken Ju at Teriyaki Boy (can’t even compare it to any other chicken I’ve eaten), but ever since I got this stupid skin allergy I have been consciously restraining myself from ordering it whenever I dine at T-Boy. 😦

So anyway, I still had a delicious dinner. And since birthdays only happen once in a year, I decided to make up for the time I lost earlier that day, by having a couple of drinks at Giligan’s Market! Market!. I recently discovered that they have a roofdeck a la fresco on the third floor, with live bands playing every night. πŸ™‚

Aaah... Solitude. Sipping piΓ±a colada and tequila sunrise at Giligan's with cool house music from a live band. GOD, THANK YOU FOR THIS LIFE! :)

Aaah… Solitude. Sipping piΓ±a colada and tequila sunrise at Giligan’s with cool house music from a live band. GOD, THANK YOU FOR THIS LIFE! πŸ™‚

The last ounce of tequila sunrise capped my day. So I went home afterwards, fully-convinced it was one of the best birthdays I had. Little did I know, my 2013 birthday celebration was not yet over.

The next day, which was a Monday, I was surprised to see this gift sitting on my desk. πŸ™‚

It’s from my boss and it contains a nice shirt and a rare Kitkat.

Gift from my boss

Gift from my boss

embroidered shirt from SF

embroidered shirt from SF

Strawberry-flavored Kitkat

Strawberry-flavored Kitkat

Pink chocolates :)

Pink chocolates πŸ™‚

Then my daughter in Street Jazz Sabrina, texted me, asking for directions on how to go to Hanaichi, a fine Japanese restaurant near our office. We recently had dinner at Hanaichi with our Saudi-based sis Ate Angel who had a vacation here in the Philippines. And she said she’s going to take a friend there.

Again, little did I know that Sab was actually not heading to Hanaichi, but to our office. She forgot how to go to our office, hence, the Hanaichi white lie. And so, for the second time on the morning after my birthday, I was surprised. Our guard informed me that someone was waiting for me in the lobby. Surprise! It was Sab, holding this…

Krispy Kreme from Sabrina

a box of Krispy Kreme

Nyummy doughnuts

Nyummy doughnuts

And as if I wasn’t delighted enough, my boss told me she (and I think another officemate) will treat me to lunch.

At Hanaichi!

Me the risk guy and Jhong the project management gal :)

Me the risk guy and Jhong the project management gal Β – full-fledged food enthusiasts πŸ™‚

Bossing Vicky, Iai and Jas

Bossing Vicky, Iai and Jas

pansit canton Hanaichi-style (meaning: worth many many bucks more than the usual Lucky Me)

pansit canton Hanaichi-style (meaning: worth many many more bucks than the usual Lucky Me)

Salmon Maki with Cream Cheese @ Hanaichi <- this on'es simply sublime

Salmon Maki with Cream Cheese @ Hanaichi

Scrumptious set meal

Scrumptious set meal

Jasmine and cute daughter Iai

Jasmine and cute daughter Iai

And then, after the heavy Jap lamon, Jas treated us to Red Mango.

Jasmine is our ex-officemate who used to handle Information Security. She promised me a year ago to cook a special dish for me (for my 2012 birthday), but that didn’t happen. So to make up for it, she bought us yogurts for dessert.

Red Mango for dessert

Red Mango for dessert

Iai elated at the sight of her colorful froyo

Iai elated at the sight of her colorful froyo

Jas' treat - very grape-y Red Mango

Jas’ treat – very grape-y Red Mango

YUM YUM YUM!

And to end the day, I dropped by the mall after work to purchase meself a new pair of leather shoes (my old one is practically un-useable) funded by my parents. Yay! The gifts didn’t seem to end. πŸ™‚

pair of W.Brown leather shoes

pair of W.Brown leather shoes

——-

After I borrowed huge cash to finance my enrollment few weeks ago, and after I splurged my Christmas bonus and other savings in my December trips to Hongkong, Macau, and my hometown Davao, I did not expect to celebrate my birthday abundantly. Thank God for the people around me who never fails to make me feel special on my day.

Thank you, Mama and Papa. Thank you, Miss Vicky, Jas, Sab, Jhong, and all the rest of the people who greeted me and made me happy. I actually did not expect to get so many greetings since I removed my birthday in my FB profile.

HAPPY 27th TO ME! πŸ™‚

IMG_4493

About lonewulf

I am a self-confessed 'jologs', a country boy who now works in the big city. I studied Applied Math, and am now completing Finance while working as a risk analyst. I feel extremely happy whenever I dance, draw/sketch, and write. I also like to read books, eat (not fruits, or vegetables), sleep, and travel.

Leave a Reply

