Activities / Work

BRIGADA ESKWELA

Cover of our company's internal newsletter

Cover of our company’s internal newsletter

Yes, that’s me right there. That bald guy in the background. We were included in the feature cover of our company’s internal newsletter. This was around summer last year, after we volunteered to do some community work, i.e. re-painting classrooms right before classes start.

IMG_2075

I readily volunteered when our company’s Employee Welfare Committee announced the activity, and sought for willing set of hands. This was because I like volunteer works a lot. It is always a good feeling to know that you have in a way helped improve the lives of other people.

Activities like this remind me of our village back in the province. When I was younger people in our village always have this Sunday morning routine that we call “bayanihan“. Initiated by none other than my parents, we involve ourselves in activities that help clean up our neighborhood, beautify it through planting, de-clog waterways, help other neighbors in moving/fixing their homes, et cetera. ¬†And I missed “bayanihan” a lot.

That’s why whenever opportunities like this come, just like this one, I always volunteer if my schedule permits. :-)

Arrival

Arrival

gloves

gloves

there were people, who are experts in mixing paint, who helped us achieve the right shade

there were people, who are experts in mixing paint, who helped us achieve the right shade

pick your weapon

pick your weapon

my officemate Joseph

my officemate Joseph

our company artist Johann

our company artist Johann

"before"

“before”

"before"

“before”

IMG_2076

break time

break time

the classrooms

Oh, I missed this. I wish I could volunteer again in other community service activities. But with my current schedule (juggling work and school), I doubt that would soon. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

